Ratings based on 2,173 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

I stay here all the time. Love the afternoon staff

Posted Jul 20, 2017
I stay here all the time. Staff in the afternoon is great. Friendly, clean, and in the middle of the GasLamp District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff , room was good size

Posted Jul 20, 2017
They really did customer service to my newly wife and I. They saw that we were newlyweds and upgraded our room in the spot. The room was clean and everyday housekeeping was excellent. I would totally recommend this place to anybody that flies into San Diego. Only downside was that at night you could hear the noise outside and if you walk east to the hotel there are a lot of homeless people but is something that won't bother you much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Excellent Experience

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Excellent place to stay. Close to many amenities. We were able to walk everywhere that we needed to go. The staff was courteous and quick to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodinville, WA

Historic hotel in trendy Gaslamp area

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Beautiful old building with lots of marble and woodwork. Staff was exceptional. Breakfast on rooftop terrace pleasant but limited. Would love to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance to mall, restau

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Excellent but staff could be nicer, warm, and welcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Nice hotel in the middle of gaslamp and restaurant

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Room small but nice.personnel polite. Good view from top while habing free continental breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Close to Everything!

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: We really enjoyed the proximity of it to nightlife. Didn't have to pay for Uber!
My sister and I came to SD to get away with friends on Memorial Day Weekend and settled on this hotel because it was primarily in a central location that is to bars, clubs, restaurants, and even a shopping area. It was not close to the beach but we weren't looking to spend too much time there anyway since we were sure it would be packed but it is about a 10-15 min drive, same goes to Old Town and other cool sites! The hotel was clean and comfortable with a great view of Gaslamp from a top floor. The staff was friendly and helpful as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Bernardo

Excellent location in the Gas Lamp.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location and roof top.
Cons: Roof top open a little longer in the evenings. Pricey parking. Unusual elevator system.
Location: Excellent location: Restaurants, bars, Petco Park, Midway, Seaport Village, Ralph's.
Fun day and night downtown from the north county with friends. Easy walk to restaurants and Petco Park. Older hotel with a lot of charm. Loved the rooftop seating in the evening, wished it was open a little later.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Gaslamp Quarter - not family friendly at all.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
This hotel is in the heart of Gaslamp Quarter and it was extremely noisy at night. I requested a room almost to the top (9th Floor) and my kids and I could still hear the noise from the streets. And my windows were shut close. The lobby is not very welcoming. Although the staff would not allow me to shower after running a marathon, most of them are nice. The valet staff are nice also. The room is beautiful and looks clean. Bathroom is also clean so I'm happy. The room smells old and I could smell the cigarette smoke even though my suite is a non smoking area. I think, the place would work if you are not sensitive to noise. Don't bring the kids to this hotel. I usually stay in Embassy Suites near Seaport Village. I highly recommend Embassy Suites if you have kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location in the Gaslamp District

Posted May 24, 2017
Only a one night stay but this hotel is really cool and has a lot of character. Rooftop was sweet with great views, if only there was a bar up there. Luckily there's a liquor store nearby so you can throw your own soi·rée in a pinch! It's also a quick walk to countless bars and restaurants. The location is superb to say the least. A buddy and I got the queen bed suite which had a cool living area and a kitchenette. Even the sofa bed was pretty damn comfortable. Would definitely recommend for a short or long stay in San Diego.