Ratings based on 4,761 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wear a hard hat

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Room was clean Close to venues Check in staff was very pleasant Fridge and microwave in room Free parking - very tight
Cons: You could notify customers about variances to your advertised product.
Location: Several fast food joints and a Dennys nearby. Walking distance to the Valley View Arena. Within 5 miles of the beach
I really wanted to like this hotel experience but at the end of the day, it just wasn't as good as it could have been. We were in town to go to a concert at the Valley View Center, so I went ahead and booked the room several weeks in advance. We arrived and the whole front of the building is covered in scaffolding and workers are walking around working on the building. Now we are talking a 3 story building completely covered in scaffolding. Needless to say, the room I booked was not available (unless I wanted to basically get a room in the middle of the construction work). I was offered a refund but we had already driven to SD and how was I supposed to get another room on one days notice. I had to take a different type of room away from the construction. Not what I had expected. Earlier that day, the hotel called me to verify my credit card info and validate I was still coming, why didn't they let me know about the construction work then? Pros: Room was clean Close to venues Check in staff was very pleasant Fridge and microwave in room Free parking - very tight Cons: Construction Did I mention construction? Beds were hard Air conditioner was marginal at best no coffee in the rooms No closet space to hang clothes, just a hook on the wall Both key cards for the door needed several swipes to open the door Ice maker in the middle of the 1st and 2nd floors, we were on the 3rd Elevators needed to be shared with the workers Dust everywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what we needed

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The motel is a reasonable price, and just the basics. The check-in was super fast, and friendly, we went to our room, and our window was open. I totally thought the worst, but we opened the door and we were pleasantly surprised. Super clean! It was a basic room with a mini fridge. The outside of the hotel was going through renovations, so there was a sign posted that they work daily starting at 8am. That kinda sucked because we like to sleep in. Got woken up at 8:04 the next morning by a nail gun, so we just packed up and left. Overall it was what we expected, and would stay here again if we needed a 1 nighter. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reviewing the hotel and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. We are delighted you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms and the team completed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodation and comfort, all at an affordable price. Our location is in a somewhat industrial area with various businesses. We love our location because, it is so close to Old Town and the Transit Station, many great restaurant, shopping all within walking distance and we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Location was great for us

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The location was where we needed to be and with traffic that is a great bonus.
Cons: The key cards were horrible and had to be reloaded every day. The sheets were either very worn or not changed.
Location: Very close to the airport and MCRD.
I would recommend with a few warnings. We were there for four nights and EVERY day our room keys quit working. It was extremely irritating to have to go have them reloaded every day. I was happy with the room overall but the sheets were either very worn or not washed. They are remodeling and it looks bad but didn't really bother us at all. We needed to be near the airport and this was ideal but not sure I would stay there again if I could find something else reasonable nearby. It served the purpose since we weren't really there other than to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reviewing the hotel and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. We are delighted you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms and the team completed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodation and comfort, all at an affordable price. Our location is in a somewhat industrial area with various businesses. We love our location because, it is so close to Old Town and the Transit Station, many great restaurant, shopping all within walking distance and we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint George, Urah

Worst hotel ever.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
When we arrived the hotel was under construction and started working at 8:00am. No pool, no coffee pot in the rooms, no breakfast, no microwave, and the smallest fridge ever. The doors had double locks which made me feel like I was in the scariest part of town. Should be a $29.99 a night room not $129.99. Oh and the beds are awfull. No sleep between the bed and construction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reviewing the Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. Please accept my apology on behalf of my property and staff on the service you received while you stayed with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
not much to say as exterior was under construction and repair
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reviewing the hotel and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. We are delighted you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms and the team completed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodation and comfort, all at an affordable price. Our location is in a somewhat industrial area with various businesses. We love our location because, it is so close to Old Town and the Transit Station, many great restaurant, shopping all within walking distance and we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

Ghetto and under construction

Posted Jul 7, 2017
It was very ghetto and the whole place was under construction and the staff were very rude. They threatened to make pay another night because one worker said I could check out at 12 and the other one said no so she was gonna charge my card without asking me. I don't recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Jeremy, Thank you for reviewing the hotel and sorry to hear about your concerns. The hotel has a check out time of 11am, but we do extend until 12 if needed, after that time we do charge for another day. This is so that we can have all of our rooms ready for the next guests to arrive as we did with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Renovated and close to attractions

Posted Jul 6, 2017
5 mins from Mission beach/ Seaworld and about 7 mins from downtown, old town is very close as well! I enjoy staying here while in San Diego! The rooms are renovated. Very comfortable room, plenty of parking- extra parking below ground too. Easy check in and out. Friendly staff, and great housekeeping! They usually always have a good price on the rooms! Gives you extra money to spend else where, if you are on a budget. This is my thrid time staying here, and pleased with it each time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect score of 5 on your review and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. Our location is in a somewhat industrial area with various businesses. We love our location because, it is so close to Old Town and the Transit Station, many great restaurant, shopping all within walking distance and we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Love this hotel! Close to everything!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We loved our experience at this hotel. Cjeck-in was a breeze and the room we got was great! Room was renovated, was very spacious and was immaculate. I honestly could not find one speck of dust in the room. The two queen beds were hard but comfy and the a/c worked great. The hotel is perfectly located and close to everything! Literally 5-10 minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Old Town and Seaport Village which we visited all these places. Also 5 minutes from best bbq restaurant Phil's BBQ. No breakfast provided but Dennys right across the street and 10% off if you show your room key. Parking was plenty and overall experience was fantastic. We will definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect score of 5 on your review and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. Our location is in a somewhat industrial area with various businesses. We love our location because, it is so close to Old Town and the Transit Station, many great restaurant, shopping all within walking distance and we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Close to attractions but not a great area

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: It was very close to the freeway, and the trolleys and transit system and a lot of the local attractions.
Cons: coffee maker in the room would be greatly appreciated since no coffee available after noon, replace threadbare towels and sheets, stock Kleenex!
Location: Several nude clubs on adjacent corner, a Denny's, lots of fast food and inexpensive shopping options within walking distance.
A very, very basic hotel with virtually none of the usual amenities. It is currently under renovation so the entire building was surrounded in scaffolding, lots of construction personnel, lots of traffic in and out. The lobby is small and very basic, offers coffee between eight and noon only. Overall the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The room seemed clean enough but the beds were hard, the sheets were scratchy and uncomfortable, and the pillows were hard, square lumps. There was no closet in the room, only a hook in the bedroom area and a hook in the bathroom area. There were no complimentary shampoo or lotion samples and no Kleenex in the room. We were given towels and one hand towel (there were 4 of us in the room, all females) but no wash cloths. When we called The front desk to ask for hand towels, wash cloths and Kleenex we were told they didn't have Kleenex (the manager said he figured toilet paper would work just as well) and that we could come down and pick up some wash cloths ( which were basically tissue thin and pretty rough to use). The available parking was underground and the area to enter the elevator was very unpleasant smelling. I would classify this hotel on par with a Motel 6, possibly lower. It was clean, and have been recently painted, but everything else was very subpar even for I'm moderately priced hotel room. I would not consider the price we paid reasonable nor low. I've paid far, far less for much nicer rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reviewing the Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. Please accept my apology on behalf of my property and staff on the service you received while you stayed with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Rate was good
Cons: Can't change the location so keep the rate low.
The hotel was okay, location was very misleading. On the wrong side of the freeway, worried about stuff left in the car. Web site should have said hotel was under renovation , like scaffold was everywhere. Perhaps when it's complete we will give it another chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for the reviewing the hotel and the time taken to let us know about your recent stay at the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld, San Diego, CA. We strive to provide a clean, affordable, quality stay with great customer service. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with these qualities. We are delighted you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms and the team completed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodation and comfort, all at an affordable price. Our location is in a somewhat industrial area with various businesses. We love our location because, it is so close to Old Town and the Transit Station, many great restaurant, shopping all within walking distance and we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Good Nite Inn near Seaworld., CA With Pleasure, Steve Worthington, General Manager