Ratings based on 1,464 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Diego

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Had an amazing stay! Great location, shuttle, comfy, fun, commentaries n awesome pool!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No View

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Quite rooms and underground parking
Cons: Service and update your hotel description to reflect that not every room comes with a Pacific view.
Location: Good location, Costco and Lego Land nearby, good restaurant/brewery on site.
Decent hotel, but shouldn't be included in VIP. - This hotel is advertised as having views of the Pacific from every room. Our room overlooked the driveway of the hotel. - The sheets were dirty - Took a while for any room service request, even though we asked for a crib days before check-in, it wasn't there, and only arrived after more phone calls - well past our son's bedtime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but has some problems.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
I recently have become wheelchair bound. We need a place to stay by our son's and chose this resort. We were excited to go there. I called the night before to make sure I had a handicapped capable room. The room was clean and nice but not what I needed. I was able to use the bed one night even though it was very difficult to get into. But, I did not sleep well. By the second night I could not get into the bed at all and ended up "sleeping" in a chair with my feet up on my wheelchair. I had requested a shower I could wheel into but got a tub. So, we left early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback - we're sorry to hear our accommodations were difficult for you. We are always more than happy to assist in any way to make your stay comfortable and would be happy to talk to you. Feel free to call us at (760) 827-3200.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I wished I stayed longer to fully enjoy the resort. I did not get a chance to use pools or other facilities for the lack of time. The room was great; walking proximity of Legoland made it easy and convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review and 5-star rating! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice roomz

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The room was very clean , nice and the the bed was very comfortable . Nice view from the balcony wonderful overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Debbie, thank you for the high star rating!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sac

Posted Jun 2, 2017
For me what matters most it a good night's sleep, and that I didn't get. Noise coming from unit above, poor noise insulation in rooms, and terrible bed. The room was also not cleaned thoroughly, very poor job.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from central california

Old and not up to par

Posted May 30, 2017
I read all these reviews before I chose this hotel it was nice as you approached the resort but the rooms are old and need a huge re vamp to be up to date and cleanliness ! The services offered were horrible they said free shuttle service so I called the night before when we got there waiting we were ignored for 1hr when I approached the driver he told me that we could walk and it was a short distance since they we're busy and short staffed. The food was horrible as well went to the brewery in hotel for the buffet breakfast and the food was all stale my kids didn't eat and we paid $70 for nothing ! Only advantage is that it is really close to legoland that is it ! To be honest we felt racially profiled they approached everyone to ask how they were doing but ignored us !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Great Family Get-a-away

Posted May 25, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the room which includes a mini kitchen and table. We spent two days at Legoland mid-week and we highly recommend it to other families with young kids. Less people, more affordable, and faster 200 mile travel time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Mama Mia. We truly appreciate your comments and value your loyalty to our property. It's a joy to read that you had a great family getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Gorgeous hotel!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: It's beauty and the spaciousness and cleanliness of our Deluxe King room.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: We stayed in Carmel, right around the corner from the Flower Fields. The 2nd day, we drove to La Jolla and saw the Sunny Jim Cave. Very interesting.
This was such a beautiful hotel! We even had a view of the Flower Fields from our room. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jan! We're so happy we were able to help you out! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Superb stay with excellent staff/customer service

Posted May 13, 2017
Stayed at the GPR for our twin boys' birthday getaway to go to Legoland since it is so close to the park. Was very impressed with the resort and its amenities but was blown away with even better customer service and staff! The front desk associate named Martin went above and beyond expectations and gave our boys birthday gifts, chocolate, and birthday card signed by other staff members. Martin and staff members didn't need to do that but was grateful for care. GPR will definitely have us as guests for future visits to Carlsbad! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
A. H., reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care! We truly hope to see you again soon!