Ratings based on 1,822 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Everything is walking distance.

Posted May 31, 2017
Nice hotel, cute park across the street. Parking is horrible if you have a SUV!!! Overall I'd stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by mark , Hotel Management
Hi and thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you found the hotel nice and walking distance to everything. Sorry, your right when it comes to parking big trucks for they are not the best fit any downtown location due to the small size of the parking spots. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Near good places. Problems about noise

Posted May 30, 2017
Good hotel, but there is a railroad behind de building. I ask for a room far from the noise, but I think they didn't have one. So, all my nights I had a lot of noise. Really quite uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by mark, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us and sharing that the hotel was nice and near many good places. Sorry for the train we sure wish it only ran in the day. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Everything was great! Great hotel overall! The only thing that caught my attention was when I kept on re racking my towels so they would take them and would save water. That's what the flyer said that was in the bathroom. I didn't throw them on the floor because I was going to reuse them. I was just trying to do my part to save water. Everything was great though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hi Javier! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I have shared it with the housekeeping team to insure they are doing their part to save water. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting

Posted May 19, 2017
everything about this hotel is excellent, except the soundproofing in the rooms. FYI THe tram runs directly behind the hotel. That wasnt the issue. The issue was we could hear EVERYTHING our room neighbors did, from talking, to the tv, to them brushing thier teeth and taking a shower. Ive never stayed in a Hampton like that before. I have never had a problem with this chain of hotels. Otherwise great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Diego and for taking the time share your experience. Guest feedback is so important for us to find ways to improve. I'm sorry to read that the sound proofing in your room was a challenge. I would really like to know what room you were in so we can look into solutions. Please feel free to email or call me if you have a chance. I do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again soon.. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario ca

great location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: the bed was very comfortable.
Location: the location is great. Close to old town and the Gaslamp district, and seaport village.
This hotel was very comfortable to stay in. Super close to the Trolly. The Midway is right across the street. The coffee is really good. The staff was nice and helpful. I would defiantly stay here again when I am in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by A.Lutz, Hotel Management
It is great to hear about your experience at Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. We love our coffee too. Thanks for your compliments about our staff as we will share it with them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Close to bay and Little Italy

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Loved the location and modern decor! Walking distance to Little Italy and Seaport
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hi Stephanie! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you loved the hotel location and look forward to welcoming back again soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

I love Hampton inns

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Every time I travel to San Diego, I stay at this Hampton Inn. The employeesare delightful. One can walk to the convention center and there's excellent food nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hi Sara! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm so pleased to read you "Love Hampton Inns" as well as the hotels location and delightful employees. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Visalia, CA

Comfortable, clean and convenient

Posted Mar 30, 2017
This hotel was very reasonably priced and within walking distance of Little Italy area of downtown San Diego. I wish we had gotten a room with a better view but the room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast eating area had upscale seating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and sharing your 5 star experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark
5 out of 5
by Aubrey

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Markm, Hotel Management
Hi Aubrey! Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased to see that you gave your experience a 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Mark
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hampton

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean and remodeled. Comfy beds and delicious free breakfast buffet . The only thing was the ice machine was broken on then 3rd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Markm, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. I'm pleased you like the remodel and found the breakfast to be delicious ans beds comfy. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis