Ratings based on 1,827 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location, continental breakfast, room, staff
Cons: Parking
Great location, great breakfast, great and clean room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by mark, Hotel Management
Hi! Thank you so much for the five star review. I'm so pleased to read that you found the hotel to have a great location, great breakfast, clean rooms and the staff to be amazing. I will share your shout out with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Everything is walking distance.

Posted May 31, 2017
Nice hotel, cute park across the street. Parking is horrible if you have a SUV!!! Overall I'd stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by mark , Hotel Management
Hi and thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you found the hotel nice and walking distance to everything. Sorry, your right when it comes to parking big trucks for they are not the best fit any downtown location due to the small size of the parking spots. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Near good places. Problems about noise

Posted May 30, 2017
Good hotel, but there is a railroad behind de building. I ask for a room far from the noise, but I think they didn't have one. So, all my nights I had a lot of noise. Really quite uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by mark, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us and sharing that the hotel was nice and near many good places. Sorry for the train we sure wish it only ran in the day. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Everything was great! Great hotel overall! The only thing that caught my attention was when I kept on re racking my towels so they would take them and would save water. That's what the flyer said that was in the bathroom. I didn't throw them on the floor because I was going to reuse them. I was just trying to do my part to save water. Everything was great though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hi Javier! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I have shared it with the housekeeping team to insure they are doing their part to save water. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting

Posted May 19, 2017
everything about this hotel is excellent, except the soundproofing in the rooms. FYI THe tram runs directly behind the hotel. That wasnt the issue. The issue was we could hear EVERYTHING our room neighbors did, from talking, to the tv, to them brushing thier teeth and taking a shower. Ive never stayed in a Hampton like that before. I have never had a problem with this chain of hotels. Otherwise great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Diego and for taking the time share your experience. Guest feedback is so important for us to find ways to improve. I'm sorry to read that the sound proofing in your room was a challenge. I would really like to know what room you were in so we can look into solutions. Please feel free to email or call me if you have a chance. I do hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again soon.. Sincerely, Mark General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario ca

great location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: the bed was very comfortable.
Location: the location is great. Close to old town and the Gaslamp district, and seaport village.
This hotel was very comfortable to stay in. Super close to the Trolly. The Midway is right across the street. The coffee is really good. The staff was nice and helpful. I would defiantly stay here again when I am in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by A.Lutz, Hotel Management
It is great to hear about your experience at Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. We love our coffee too. Thanks for your compliments about our staff as we will share it with them.
2 out of 5
by Kevin

Noise!

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nearly uninhabitable from the noise. The Red Bull air races on the harbor didn't help, but the constant trains plus the construction next door left me staying in the room as little as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Markm, Hotel Management
So sorry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Close to bay and Little Italy

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Loved the location and modern decor! Walking distance to Little Italy and Seaport
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hi Stephanie! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you loved the hotel location and look forward to welcoming back again soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Overall satisfaction with the stay was good. The wi-fi was spotty and most likely the reason we will not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Markm, Hotel Management
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you experienced poor wifi. We have been seeing this is an area in need of addressing so we will. We will have a complete upgrade to our complimentary wifi late April or early May. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager
5 out of 5
by Valerie

Excellent

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Only complaint I could make is that the roll-in shower (accessible) is a mess! The shower handle doesn't stay put on its pin (on the wall) and the shower curtain is not long enough - water gets everywhere! A little thought can solve this problem (and I'll bet both your guests and housekeepers will love the improvement). Breakfast is great - best bagels outside of NY! Everyone is helpful and cheerful and pleasant to work with. Location is terrific. Parking fee a bit steep in the garage, but at least there is parking! Wifi could be more robust, but it's not bad as is.I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Markm, Hotel Management
Hi Valerie! Thank you for the 5 star review. I'm so pleased to read the staff were all helpful and cheerful. I have forwarded your suggestions on the shower curtain and will look at getting this fixed right away. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager