Ratings based on 2,119 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Disappointing!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Staff at the front desk was very rude. We had to ask him several times for a map to find our way around. The beautiful bar that you see on the pictures was closed and nobody knew when would it open?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

It was OK

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Cleansliness and the swimming pool.
Cons: Update the rooms and improve the bed sizes
Location: Old Towne & Sea Port Village
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The free shuttle service to nearby malls and Old Towne is an added benefit. On the downside, they did not offer shuttle service to or from the airport which I thought was unusual. The beautiful heated swimming pool was nice; however, the exercise room was extremely small. The biggest disappointment was the room itself. First of all, I don't know what beds they claim to have, but we had two beds in our room which were really small. I would be surprised if they were even a standard full size. For two adults to share a bed would be a tight fit to say the least. The rooms are old and outdated with your standard small bathroom. There was no dresser and a small dorm size fridge that barely cooled beverages. On a good note, the rooms were clean and quiet, but still.......... Wine at the bar is overpriced. The house chardonnay was $31 per bottle!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SFO

Old and dated

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The pool area was nice an the staff too.
Cons: The hotel needs to remodel desperately and get rid of the NYC size rooms
Location: Well located
I was familiar with the San Francisco property so was willing to try one. The hotel is run down and dated and my room was very small and poorly located. I paid an above market price for. Sub standard room. The fitness center was not air conditioned and doubled as the pool room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Don't be fooled, this is a 2 star hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Pool
Cons: Almost everything. It is greatly overprized for its substandard standard rooms, badly managed and maintained. Urgently needs remodeling!
Location: San Diego Old Town, Fashion Valley shopping mall, Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo, plenty of beaches and Sea World
This hotel claims 3 1/2 stars, but it is 2 stars at best. The positive: reception was understaffed (wait times), but staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area is really nice, though the cleanliness of the hot tub is questionable. But: the rooms are outdated, carpet is close to filthy and the furniture old and partly broken (however, maintenance is only done after complaints). Our standard room was largely sub-standard: in an outlying house with dirty corridors, aircon hardly working, smelly, cleanliness only perfunctory, single-pane windows which provide no noise-protection to the I-8. After 3 days we complained to Expedia, and were then offered a pool-view room (thanks you very much, Expedia: pleasant contact and professional handling of the issue). This second room had a balcony and the building was just a bit better maintained. The inner courtyard protected from the highway noise, however, make sure there is no party (wedding, etc.) during the weekends. Generally room cleaning was rather careless and badly managed: tomels were not taken or sufficiently replenished, the soapy sink area was not cleaned, amenities and coffee were only replenished after complaints. Management, train your employees and follow up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mich

nice hotel easy to get to

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: location
clean, attractive looking grounds, helpful courteous staff, nice pool and hot tub area, has a salon/barber on site as well as a restaraunt( we did not teat here as seemed expensive)only thing weird to me was being hotel circle, with all the hotels there was only 1 outside restaraunt, other than waht ever each hotel had so you were kinda limited to eating there, but other places were not far away, and not too far from beach,sea world old town, overall nice place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Jul 10, 2017
As I arrived my first impression was unreal. The hotel lobby does not look like the picture in the online site. It smells like smoke. My from view was the top of the pool bar echo he seemed not to be cleaned for a while. Cigarette trash on it and so forth. When I tried changing my room, the so called acting supervisor was rude. Un willing to help but made sure I understood that I did not pay for a view room. So unprofessional. All staff I encountered seemed to be unhappy there. Will not be returning to the Handlery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Great for the Money

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Nice, Clean
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nothing within walking distance, but 5 minutes from anywhere you would want to be in San Diego.
Everything was perfect, bed was decent, room was very clean, only complaint would be the 15 minute walk to the nearest convenience store, but overall it was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Decent

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I paid almost 700 for 5 nights and then they charge 14 a day to park. Little ridiculous. Room was okay but really small. The patio was nice to have but I felt like we weren't able to smoke outside because it's all open. Parking attendant (girl) was extremely rude. Decently close to mission beach, seaport village, downtown.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va

Good location but not recommended

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Friendly staff.. Convenient location at hotel circle. Even thou I read some nagative reviews, main reasons I booked this hotel is first, they said they have area shuttle service. This is not ongoing shuttle. You need to make reservation ahead and call back for pickup which was so inconvenience. They said they don't go to downtown either. It was useless for us. Second, hotel commented they are continuously working to improve service so I thought we will be okay. Check-in was easy and fast. Staff was friendly enough but they do not give you any information about hotel facility unless you ask for it. Now.. here are suprise things happen to us after we got into room (1st floor at Point Loma Building) 1. Mold on shower curtain (so disgusting) 2. Low shower water pressure 3. No fan (vent) in bathroom 4. Very slow wifi 5. Cabinet door for refrigerator won't close I told them we are not happy with room we have. They said rooms are all booked for that night so they will change our room next day. And they changed shower curtain Next day morning, 6. we found big centipedes on carpet (horror) That evening hotel gave us a upgrade room on Del Mar Building, 2nd floor. Here are problem with this upgrade room: 1. Bathtub won't drain well 2. Cabinet door 5. You hear next room TV sound 6. Room keys not working so we have to reprogramed every day at front desk I am so sorry to write nagative review but I think all guest deserve better than this. Sorry
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend this hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The pool and hot top were clean.
Cons: All the items I mentioned above.
Location: Your location is great but your in big competition with all the surrounding hotels. You should step up your game.
I stayed in two different rooms within the same week and found the tubs don't drain well, the bathroom door wouldn't close properly in room 155, there are not vents in the bathroom so if you poo you share it with your partner. In addition, there is inadequate draw space as there are no dressers or chest of drawers to use just one or two bed side tables if your lucky. Finally, parking cost $14.00 a day when other hotels in the same hotel circle cost less. No I wouldn't stay here again, sorry.