Ratings based on 2,065 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima Wa

Nice hotel located near freeways and shopping

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Good hotel and pool. Rooms could use some updating but it wasn't too bad. Staff were really friendly and I was able to get my mustache trimmed at the barber shop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pool was great

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The pool was great! The service was friendly and speedy. However, the room was a bit run down and shabby. Not sure if we were in clean linens as there were multiple stains on them but the beds were comfortable. Sadly, the bathroom was not very clean but we managed. The thermostat seemed to have a mind of its own so in the middle of the night it got pretty toasty in the room where we all, (my husband, son and myself) woke up sweating and I would have to readjust the thermostat around 3AM every night. There was a police raid while we were there so that was kind of scary but it was handled very professionally and as quietly as possible. The food was pretty good too, but service took a while, (45-50 min) when they would say 25-35. Nonetheless, it was always warm when it arrived. I would recommend their pancakes and omelettes. It is a bit pricy though but the portions are pretty large.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Hotel did not honor cancellation handled through Expedia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Hotel was fine but nothing special. The workout area was terrible. We were in a satellite building so it was a little inconvenient. The staff was not overly helpful at any time. Again ... it was just ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to most things and good for families

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Clean and safe. Good facilities. Close to most things and easy to get to public transport. Great pool area. Laundry facilities
Cons: Larger menu to choose from. Less spicy options.
Location: Close to Belmont Park, Balboa Park, Old Town, Zoo, Sea World, Maritime Museum, USS Midway
Had a great time. Staff helpful. Lucky enough to receive a room upgrade. Shuttle bus drivers wonderful, especially Jeff and Ceingan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santee

Old Hotel in Mission Valley

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Area
Cons: remodeling
Hotel was ok, We were on our 5th anniversary and had our 18 month old baby with us. Hotel needs remodeling but was ok for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Waneda, Hotel Management
Greetings Katie, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are truly saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as we had hoped. Please know we strive to provide the best in hospitality and are continuously working to improve our services. We hope one day we can turn this experience around for you. Best Regards, Waneda
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted May 30, 2017
Hotel Is close by to most attractions in San Diego (little Italy, beaches, gaslamp, old town). Rooms are in good shape but walls are very thin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Waneda, Hotel Management
Greetings Valued Guest, Thank you so much for providing us a 3-star review. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Helens OR

Convenient to local attractions.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Shuttle, Postcards Restaurant, happy hour in the bar, great location for local attractions, really attentive and friendly staff.
Cons: Didn't have a microwave, and for some reason the mini fridge wasn't working. Wasn't a necessity for us, but wanted to mention it. Fan in bath.
Location: Old San Digeo (was our favorite), Midway, San Diego Zoo, and Seaworld - which was okay, but really spread out and the dining options were spendy.
Checked in late (10:30PM), desk clerks were very friendly and informative. Postcards restaurant was excellent, and so convenient as we had no vehicle with us and didn't want to venture out for dining if not required. The food was great, the variety was good, and the service and attentiveness of the servers excellent. We started splitting the breakfast between us (2), which worked well - very generous portions, and the price was okay considering the area. One main reason we chose The Handlery is that it stated it had a free shuttle to area attractions. With no car, that was a great plus. We were saddened to find out that the Midway was not one of those attractions; but, while waiting to check at the desk to see options to get to the the Midway, a gentleman (staff) approached asking if he could be of help. It turned out to be the shuttle driver, Jeff; and, though unable to take us to the Midway, he offered to take us to Fashion Valley Mall (a stop on the list) from where we could catch the local commuter train to get to our destination. He loaded us up, took us to the mall, and even walked us up to the ticket station to show us how it worked. The following days he was our driver to the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, and Old San Diego. Always timely, very pleasant, and just a great person to deal with (plus a great person - loved those brussels sprouts!!! ;0) - He gets 10 gold stars!! And our sincere thanks. The room was comfortable; but, no bath fan! Not a big deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Waneda, Hotel Management
Greetings Marina, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Jeff is our driver and we are so glad he was able to offer his assistance. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great price for a comfortable stay

Posted May 29, 2017
I frequent San Diego and love to try variant hotels. My son Jude and I have been to the lavish Grand Hyatt and all the way down to the four points by Sheraton. However, the Handlery Hotel has all you need and more ! A large ten foot deep pool, great hot tub, clean rooms, average wifi lol, and amazing breakfast which was very affordable (probably one of the most filling and light on the wallet around). This hotel is rated a 3.6-3.8 on average but for our purposes which is a weekend get away earns a solid 4 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Waneda, Hotel Management
Greetings Brandon, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: clean, safe and the staff was nice.
Cons: Allowing the pool to stay open a little later.
Location: We went to SeaWorld and the Safari.
The staff was wonderful. got a bday card from the staff, not expected. The staff made us feel welcome and went above for us.