Ratings based on 2,034 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

May 2017

Posted May 20, 2017
Reasonable stay unfortunately spoiled by noisy guests with no consideration for other guests. I appreciate this is not the hotels fault but this was the reality. Nice pool area and good bar/food. Easy walking distance of shops and the tram stop giving access to San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Bathrooom is bad condition and dirty. Furniture tv stand in bad condition (doors)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Posted May 14, 2017
Loved the location, so local to everything! Booked this very last minute and was pleased to find this hotel and overall was very satisfied
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Great location, not a great hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Reserved a king size room and at check in I was told they were sold out of rooms with king beds. I asked how this happened and the gentleman at the front desk told me it was because I booked with a third party, Expedia. Apparently the Handlery is too good for loyal Expedia customers. On top of having the sleep in separate beds, the bathroom sink and bathtub drains did not drain properly. Hotel circle has many other options, do not chose the Handlery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great hotel for the price. Close to everything.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Room was close to lobby and beautiful pool area with plenty of lounge chairs.
Cons: The restaurant was a little pricey although the food was great. Most area hotels give free breakfast with room but not the Handlery.
Location: Location was great with everything to do nearby. They also have shuttle bus.
We stayed for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Excellent location, dining, excellent!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Well located, near shopping, trolley to Old Town, SeaPort village, downtown. Easy to get to and from La Jolla.
Staff was outstanding! Kerry was terrific, helped me with finding the places where I wanted to go. Could not have found them without her help. 5* plus for Kerry
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice pool. But for 190.00 a night, I expected ALOT better room WITH a balcony at least, Decent shower pressure woulda be nice. Have had a better room at Motel 6. Parking was great tho....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Older hotel, newer amenities not available

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The pool area looked nice.
Cons: Decent Wi-fi, water damage on ceiling, better television, ice machine.
Location: It's in an area by a lot of other hotels and it's San Diego. So if you are able to get out of your room it's ok. The rooms themselves suck.
The outward appearance of the Handler is pleasing. It is an older hotel but still looks nice. This is where the good part ends. The customer service at the front desk was average. Once in your room, the wi-fi is terrible with no option to get better/faster service. By terrible I mean DL speeds of about .1-.2 mbps. The television had no built in guide, so you had to flip from channel to channel and hope something good was on and deal with commercials. There was no ice machine. The doors slam when shut and can be heard at 4am or whenever someone decides to leave their room, and not just from your neighboring rooms. Room service was fast and affordable. There was also water damage on several parts of the ceiling in my room that looks like it was painted over but still very noticeable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The staff at the front desk were very nice but the rooms need to be updated. Our mattress was just ok. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. It just needs a little attention and it would be great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Waneda, Hotel Management
Greetings Valued Guest, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are truly saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as we had hoped. Please know we strive to provide the best in hospitality and are continuously working to improve our services. We hope one day we can turn this experience around for you. Best Regards, Waneda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great front desk service. Good location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We were staying at a different property upon viewing the room we switched to this much upgraded, better service, rooms very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Waneda, Hotel Management
Greetings Jeannette, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again! Best Regards, Waneda