Ratings based on 2,959 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Good hotel in San Diego Gaslamp district

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel had all the amenities one would expect. The memorabilia was very interesting too. The room enough plugs that were easily accessible so if you have a ton of tech, no problem. The front desk and bell staff were very good. However there was supposed to be a band playing in the bar and they were encouraging people to show up through text. When we arrived the band was late and the staff wasn't terribly helpful. This was just a small thing though. If you wish to be in the middle of everything in downtown San Diego it is a good place. It is very close to Petco and a fifteen minute brisk walk to the waterfront. You can almost throw a rock at the convention centre too. It is close to the Old Town Trolley as well as the light rail.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Karl, thanks for your review and perfect score! Downtown San Diego is such a fabulous place and we're so fortunate to be in the middle of it all for our guests to enjoy. All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Great staff, great service, clean room

Posted May 17, 2017
Cons: I'd make it more clear that for those that need to redeem checked luggage, they do NOT need to stand in line with those checking into the hotel.
If you're looking for a fun place to stay within San Diego's Gaslamp District, this is an excellent choice. It's within walking distance to everything and the staff/service was top tier. Everyone on the property was fantastic. And a surprising plus...Nobu is located within the hotel's lobby. Amazing food.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the terrific review! We love what we do at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we can't thank you enough for recommending us! Thanks also for the helpful tip for fellow travelers. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Posted May 16, 2017
Location was perfect. Pool party was awesome. Price for the stay was little high.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, Shad! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you made the most of our downtown San Diego location and the pool party was a hit! We hope you'll visit Hard Rock Hotel San Diego again soon! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great gas lamp location.

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice place,young crowd,party atmosphere, after all it is the hard rock!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the great score and review! We know how to party over here in San Diego at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we're so glad you had fun with us. Come back when you're ready for more! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern and clean

Posted May 14, 2017
Only problem is the lack of hotel, and $50/nyt is too much
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review. Your feedback is so helpful in knowing what we're doing right, and where we can improve. We hope you will give us another opportunity as we'd love to have you as our guest again! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Super close to restaurants and bars

Posted May 12, 2017
The hotel is trendy and clean. I enjoyed grabbing breakfast downstairs at Mary Jane's.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Hey Kevin, thanks for staying with us and for your review! We love our location, too, and there's always something going on in the Gaslamp Quarter. All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Great hotel near to the beach. Nice atmosphere, Nobu was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the terrific review! We love what we do at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we can't thank you enough for recommending us! We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Could have been more updated and modern. Otherwise it was clean and friendly. Great location. Easy access to many activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by m, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review! Your feedback is so helpful in knowing what we're doing right, and where we can improve. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and we apologize for failing to meet some of your expectations. We hope you will give us another opportunity as we'd love to have you as our guest again! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in the Gas Lamp area.

Posted May 8, 2017
Enjoyed the location of the hotel and the room was really nice. There was coffee in the lobby every morning and an ice machine just down the hall. The room was quiet and didn't have any problems sleeping. Everything was within a short walk from the Hotel. Close to the beach and shopping and plenty of restaurants close by. Petco park was just about a city block from the Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Our entire staff at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego loves receiving reviews like yours! So glad you had a fantastic time and we look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom in Middle of Room

Posted May 8, 2017
Cons: Get the bathroom out of the center of the room.
Definitely a cool place and fairly high end furnishings, but too weird. Nobody at the door, nobody to bring up bags if you don't valet. $100 daily charge (to be reimbursed) for mini-bar. But seriously to put a bathroom in the middle of a suite is plain tacky. How can you have guests in the seating area if there is a visible bathroom sink? Very difficult to use controls in the shower and sink. Unclear whether there was cold water in the sink. Inadequate towels. A bar that had most likely stale items on it taking up lots of room. Fairly dark. Very long walk to the elevator. Not a place for people out of shape, or over 25.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for your honest review! We appreciate your feedback about the design of your suite. We realize the open floor plan of a few suite types offers less privacy than some guests prefer; and we do have suites with a more standard layout. Our front desk or reservations staff are happy to work with our guests whenever possible to make sure they are placed in a suite that's comfortable to them! Thank you for staying and please give us another chance in the future! Kevin A. Manager