Ratings based on 2,977 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

rock & roll visit

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Price a little more reasonable for hotel guests for valet parking.
Location: Perfect location. Tons of choices for meals and entertainment. Walk around and you definitely will find things to do
check in staff was wonderful. very accommodating and thorough in telling us everything happening at the hotel on the dates of our stay. It was wonderful meeting Kayte, the concierge. She treated us very well and got us reservations with the suggestion she gave us for a birthday dinner. The staff made the trip special. If there was a downside it was no shuttle to the Rock & Roll marathon. Many runners were outside at 5:15 trying to find a way to the race. I ended up gathering 3 runners and used my rental car to transport the group. Seems like a hotel that deals with "rock & roll" should have made accomodations for a shuttle, even if a cost was attached to it. Other than that, a perfect stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Lou, thanks so much for your review. Your feedback is so helpful in knowing what we're doing right, and where we can improve. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and I apologize for failing to meet some of your expectations. We hope you will give us another opportunity as we'd love to have you as our guest again! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, great location, great dining!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We loved the hotel, the staff, dining and it is located in the heart of San Diego. It was an amazing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and for your review! It's so awesome to know that you loved the hotel and our rock star staff. We love our location, too, and there's always something going on in the Gaslamp Quarter. All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel is amazing and so its staff. The rooms are large and clean. The dine in room was amazing too! Highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, and we'll be sure to pass your kind message on to our great staff. Please visit us again soon! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted May 31, 2017
Great location, rooms are amazing and the staff even better
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
It's so exciting for all of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego to know your stay with us was all you wanted it to be! Thanks for taking the time to let us know and we look forward to seeing you next time! James G. Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Had to wait, room was not ready until 5 pm.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: It is close to everything.
Cons: Yes, provide guest parking and making sure room are ready when promised.
We had to wait for our room until 5 pm to check in, so we sat in the lobby and waited for 2 hours. We paid the room in advance. My husband was sick so he needed to lay down, I advised the hotel lobby clerk but they said the room was not ready. Also the parking fee was over $45. A bit too high for hotel parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Hi Suzie, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback regarding our front desk service. We're so sorry our service kept you from having a rockin' stay. I have shared this with our team to ensure we come up with a solution. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel in Gas Lamp Quarter

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Very nice, clean hotel. Great location
Cons: Line of communication!!!
Pleased with stay, parking and restaurants very expensive but what you'd expect in the area I guess - restaurants charge service fee AND tip - so additional USD$100 for our family for an average Italian meal - look around (not the Hotels fault obviously). Only disappointment was trying to get hold of someone to talk to regarding one of our bags that went missing when we were loading them in to the car - haven't received our call back that we need to verify for our insurance company - hate the fact that hotels hide behind email etc - unobtainable when you need them. We received a courtesy text asking about our stay and whether there was anything they could help with when we arrived back in LA later on the day of check out, responded asking whether anyone had seen our bags, no response - still no response!! Feel like they don't care as long as they get their money for the stay - very disappointed as thousands out of pocket now! All we wanted was an acknowledgement that we'd registered it as missing and help with advising police etc... :-(
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Sue, thank you for your staying with us and taking the time to share your review. On behalf of our entire staff, please accept our sincere apologies for your experience. It's important for us to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience, and from what you shared we were certainly not at our best during your stay. We hope you will give us a chance to make this up to you the next time you're in the area. Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Good hotel in San Diego Gaslamp district

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel had all the amenities one would expect. The memorabilia was very interesting too. The room enough plugs that were easily accessible so if you have a ton of tech, no problem. The front desk and bell staff were very good. However there was supposed to be a band playing in the bar and they were encouraging people to show up through text. When we arrived the band was late and the staff wasn't terribly helpful. This was just a small thing though. If you wish to be in the middle of everything in downtown San Diego it is a good place. It is very close to Petco and a fifteen minute brisk walk to the waterfront. You can almost throw a rock at the convention centre too. It is close to the Old Town Trolley as well as the light rail.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Karl, thanks for your review and perfect score! Downtown San Diego is such a fabulous place and we're so fortunate to be in the middle of it all for our guests to enjoy. All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego look forward to your next visit! Kevin A. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Great staff, great service, clean room

Posted May 17, 2017
Cons: I'd make it more clear that for those that need to redeem checked luggage, they do NOT need to stand in line with those checking into the hotel.
If you're looking for a fun place to stay within San Diego's Gaslamp District, this is an excellent choice. It's within walking distance to everything and the staff/service was top tier. Everyone on the property was fantastic. And a surprising plus...Nobu is located within the hotel's lobby. Amazing food.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the terrific review! We love what we do at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we can't thank you enough for recommending us! Thanks also for the helpful tip for fellow travelers. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Posted May 16, 2017
Location was perfect. Pool party was awesome. Price for the stay was little high.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, Shad! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you made the most of our downtown San Diego location and the pool party was a hit! We hope you'll visit Hard Rock Hotel San Diego again soon! Kevin A. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great gas lamp location.

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice place,young crowd,party atmosphere, after all it is the hard rock!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the great score and review! We know how to party over here in San Diego at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we're so glad you had fun with us. Come back when you're ready for more! Kevin A. Manager