Ratings based on 2,120 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Beautiful views of Torrey Pines Golf Course.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Well maintained.
Location: Right next door to Torrey Pines Golf and only minutes away from all the fun in San Diego area.
There is a Bell Captain there, named Rich. He is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Del Mar

Attentive & FANTASTIC

Posted May 28, 2017
I just want to say this location from the moment I walked in, I was kindly greeted. The staff is amazing! Sweet AM Manager accommodated me with early checkin, I forgot her name but she has blonde hair. Neil checked me in, he has very great social skills and can truly tell he cares about the guest. Valet gentlemen named Bengamin was terrific and on top of it! Jeff the manager for the PM NIGHT AUDIT SHIFT was amazing! I can't tell you how great he is, you could truly tell he's meant for this industry. I appreciate the suggestions he gave me. Kudos to all! I'll be back soon! Cheers -Diana Habash
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location....

Posted May 27, 2017
Pretty grounds, odd setup for going from garage to hotel room. Small room. Water faucets leaked in shower and sink. No guest coffee in lobby, had to purchase Starbucks. Room service terrible (only brought service for one when 2 requested. She stood there telling me what she did extra so I'd tip her on top of the service fee already included! - and the pizza ordered wasn't good ($35 for 14" pizza seemed outrageous). My husband sick from it all the following day. Breakfast Buffet (Monday) was good - the omelette station great. Again a little pricey for breakfast. No place to self park for free...Had to pay $30 per day. Or valet for $40. Stayed 2 night Sat. And Sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time all of the staff were very friend

Posted May 26, 2017
Had a great time all of the staff were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Elegant facility with picturesque views

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Views and access to golf and trails.
Cons: Check in people could take a little more time explaining what to expect
The hotel design takes full advantage of being on the ocean stretching north/south with many rooms and meeting facilities having site lines to the water. It's ideally located next to nature - golf/hiking/beach - but minutes to the freeway and amenities. It's expensive in comparison to other properties but certainly a comfortable stay.. DEFINITELY do the trails. The panoramic view is exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

increadibly beautiful,

Posted May 15, 2017
This hotel should be featured in one of those feel-good romance comedies like "forgetting Sarah Marshall." It's just so beautifully, the landscape is gorgeous. The sunset is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice hotel, but even better staff.

Posted May 10, 2017
The hotel was very nice. The staff had to be the high point, though. Extremely courteous and helpful in every way. Probably the best customer service experience I've ever had at a hotel. Great place to go, especially if you plan on playing either/both courses and Torrey Pines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Nice room

Posted Apr 19, 2017
I arrived at 1pm and they were able to accommodate us as soon as we got there. Very nice staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Very poor value for your money!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We paid a premium price for a "golf course view" and could see about a 10 yard strip of grass out our window. After paying $322 CDN/ night we get there and they charge us an additional "resort amenities fee" of $25 US which is not optional and gives you access to the pool, gym etc. Oh yeah - and a free Starbucks coffee but you can only get a small one - no Grande for you :-) Gee - I thought that was what my $322 /night paid for!! Never mind the $30 US they charged us to park our own car in the parking lot. So really the cost was about $400 per night which it is definitely not worth. We were also supposed to get a $50 credit toward use in the hotel for meals etc. but when I went to check out it wasn't applied to my restaurant order and the guy at the front desk looked at me like I was stupid. One more chance I thought - so spent 30 minutes trying to find an email address to send them my concerns. Wow - they replied in 1 day that they would look into it - well, it's 10 days later and nothing. I give. Poor customer service and way way way overpriced - spend your money at hotel that values your business!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linden, Belgium

Overrated classic Hilton style hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: fresh up the interior with more up to to date furniture and colors/lightning
Location: UC, City Center, La Jolla, San Diego, SeaWorld
The Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines is well located close to La Jolla, Seaworld, San Diego etc but although the area is beautiful with adjacent golf, swimming pool and seaside the hotel is classic/old/big. I would not consider going back also taking into account the high price and extra's you need to pay (f.e. eggs for breakfast are charged extra).