Ratings based on 2,108 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

increadibly beautiful,

Posted May 15, 2017
This hotel should be featured in one of those feel-good romance comedies like "forgetting Sarah Marshall." It's just so beautifully, the landscape is gorgeous. The sunset is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice hotel, but even better staff.

Posted May 10, 2017
The hotel was very nice. The staff had to be the high point, though. Extremely courteous and helpful in every way. Probably the best customer service experience I've ever had at a hotel. Great place to go, especially if you plan on playing either/both courses and Torrey Pines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Nice room

Posted Apr 19, 2017
I arrived at 1pm and they were able to accommodate us as soon as we got there. Very nice staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Very poor value for your money!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We paid a premium price for a "golf course view" and could see about a 10 yard strip of grass out our window. After paying $322 CDN/ night we get there and they charge us an additional "resort amenities fee" of $25 US which is not optional and gives you access to the pool, gym etc. Oh yeah - and a free Starbucks coffee but you can only get a small one - no Grande for you :-) Gee - I thought that was what my $322 /night paid for!! Never mind the $30 US they charged us to park our own car in the parking lot. So really the cost was about $400 per night which it is definitely not worth. We were also supposed to get a $50 credit toward use in the hotel for meals etc. but when I went to check out it wasn't applied to my restaurant order and the guy at the front desk looked at me like I was stupid. One more chance I thought - so spent 30 minutes trying to find an email address to send them my concerns. Wow - they replied in 1 day that they would look into it - well, it's 10 days later and nothing. I give. Poor customer service and way way way overpriced - spend your money at hotel that values your business!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linden, Belgium

Overrated classic Hilton style hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: fresh up the interior with more up to to date furniture and colors/lightning
Location: UC, City Center, La Jolla, San Diego, SeaWorld
The Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines is well located close to La Jolla, Seaworld, San Diego etc but although the area is beautiful with adjacent golf, swimming pool and seaside the hotel is classic/old/big. I would not consider going back also taking into account the high price and extra's you need to pay (f.e. eggs for breakfast are charged extra).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Pretty in the outside! Ugly on the inside!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We expected the same or a better experience than The Estancia Hotel in La Jolla.down the road, The hotel surroundings are beautiful view to the ocean and manicured gardens. Upon arrival we noticed that the refrigerator was not working, We had a King bed with four lumpy and old standard size pillows. We requested two more and after 30 minutes someone showed up with two additional old pillows. We found a piece of underwear and a burned out light bulb in the bathroom and noticed a band it sticked to the fire detector in the ceiling. We thankfully only booked one night in this hotel. We pointed out our findings and showed the pictures to the hotel in the morning. Kudos to Saul in reception who seems to understand what Customer Services means and the importance of cleanliness.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ba

ok hotel ti stay

Posted Apr 11, 2017
took too long to fix broken light bulbs. had to requested two times: 1st at 3 pm, no one showed up, requested again at 7 pm, took 20 minutes to come.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch the fees

Posted Apr 10, 2017
$25 resort fee - for what? Let's be transparent and put into the price. Also a $30 self parking fee in a non-city location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean view Delight

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, pool view room.
Cons: Everything was great.
Location: Torrey Pines Golf Course, visit San Diego Zoo, Solana Beach, Del Mar, something everywhere near.
Wonderful service. Great breakfast and access to wonderful trips nearby—the Salk Institute architecture, great dining in La Jolla. Legoland, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
my stay was excellent room clean, specious, and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! We hope you will be our guest again soon!