Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice solid hotel close to quite a few things.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Free Wifi Free Parking (Nice in CA) Free Hot Breakfast Nice Room
Location: Not much that I found within walking distance but is a short 10-20 minute drive to quite a few things (La Jolla, Downtown San Diego, Gaslamp, airport)
Hotel is not the fanciest, but is nice, comfortable and has good amenities for the casual traveler. It's pretty close to both the airport, La Jolla and downtown San Diego. Definitely appreciated the breakfast in the morning. Overall a great hotel for anyone who is going to have a mix of downtown and beach travel. Pros: Free Wifi Free Parking (Nice in CA) Free Hot Breakfast Nice Room Cons: Not the fanciest of hotels, but that's not its real point? While its pretty close to a lot of things, there are other hotels that are closer to La Jolla, or downtown San Diego, or Gaslamp etc. If you want a hotel that's walking distance to the beach, this hotel is not that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Cure for Insomnia

Posted Apr 25, 2017
This place is suprisingly quiet. Aside from my own children, I had no clue any other rug rats were there until breakfast the next day. I didn't hear anyone screaming, fighting, crying through the walls as some places usually can and do. I was able to relax and sleep. Considering that I usually have to deal with insomnia, that is saying something. I will be returning again for my next vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B C Canada

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Close to the park great if you have a bike . Rooms are clean . Great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Fun experience. Very close to all the basis amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was in good condition and pretty clean.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
It is very close to see world, which was our main reason for staying there. The free breakfast isn't great but good enough. The rooms were pretty clean, and the cleaning staff were very friendly. The pool is very small, but we didn't spend much time there, so that's not too bad. Overall it was good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, PA

Nice hotel, affordable, nice staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, location, free wifi, complimentary breakfast
Cons: The pool is not that great, rooms are small, AC didn't really work that well
Location: Close to Seaworld, Pacific and Mission Beach, 7-11 right across the street, close to in-n-out burger.
The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but they are clean and cozy. I loved that we had a microwave and fridge. The little animals made by towels was not expected at such a small hotel and I appreciated that. In the room was the coffee make and complimentary bottles of water. The breakfast wasn't amazing but it was good. Free wifi... it was nice. The distance isn't far to get to many places either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The staff for check-In and breakfast were excellent. Great customer service. The breakfast was excellent. The food service had a fast turnover & there was always a staff around saying goodmorning. The room was very small & had a few flaws. The parking stalls were small. But the staff overruled that & for that it was able to allow me to have a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel close to where family lives.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The entire property appeared clean, staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. House Keeping did a fantastic job with the rooms.
Cons: none.
Location: Location was great for my wife and I we have family nearby and we visit with them. Beaches were close by. Places to eat.
Check in was a breeze. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast area was organized, fresh, clean and all breakfast items was always full and complete. The lady that manage the breakfast was so into her work making it pleasant and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Juan Alarid, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the same hotel as the picture.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: There was nothing that I liked actually.
Cons: For one, update the pictures online and if nothing can be done about the claustrophobic room then at least do some updates.
Location: The location is good for those that want to be near fast food and other convenience stores but too close to peoples homes.
Very disappointed when we arrived to the hotel and it was not the same as the picture I had from the print out of the reservation. The room was clean but very small, everything was too crammed together for two adults and two children. The curtain also didn't close all the way. The hotel itself, outside of the room, was dingy looking. Was not what I expected at all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Cons: The interior parking lot was way too small. I have a compact car and there was no way I could unload all my luggage while parked in those space.
Location: Sea World was about a 10 minute drive.
The lobby, rooms, hall, weight room, and breakfast room were all very clean. The beds were soft, rooms were decent sized. Breakfast was great. There were biscuits and gravy, sausage, cinnamon rolls, bagels, fruit, cereals oatmeal, eggs., juice. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with my family so close Sea World.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by gm.hixmb@excelhotelgroup.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. I am delighted that we were able to earn that great review. We strive to provide to all of our guests a clean, well kept hotel with exceptional customer service. I am delighted that we were able to do that for you. We hope that you will allow us to provide you with the same level of customer service on your next visit. Hospitably, Juan Alarid, General Manager