Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay. Close to town train, shopping

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff
Cons: That had everything
Location: Plenty of places to shop and eat close by. Next to train station for visit to town.
We have stayed here twice and both times were a great experience. Will stay again next time we are in San Diego
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your positive response on The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again!! We take great pride in satisfying our returned guests and we will be sharing your positive comments with our staff! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you. We appreciate you staying with us, and hope to see you back on your next trip to Chula Vista!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient for chula vista. Ok location

Posted May 16, 2017
Arranged 3 n stay through expedia. I needed to shorten from 3 to 2 night. I asked Hotel on first day and they say ask expedia. Expedia says a day later after 3 long hold calls says up to hotel but will have mgr call. No call no refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and the time you spent with us, but apologize you had some booking issues. We appreciate your positive review and would be more than happy to welcome you back again sometime soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay here!!!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
If you or your guest has anyform other than a state issued or us government issued ID , they will refuse to let you stay . My fiancee has a mexican consulant issued ID and they said she could not stay as my guest.. Not only is this not on there website but its not on exdedias website either. The room was prepaid for thru expedia and now they are trying to refuse me a refund due to there policy which is not spelled out on either website...they left me without my cash 1130pm at night and no place to stay and no help....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valley Village,CA

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very nice staff. Convenient location. Close to restaurants, groceries, trollly and freeway. Clean room with comfortable bed. My kids and I stayed here for one night and we will recommend it. Overall stay was great. Will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Marianne Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and the time you spent with us. We appreciate your positive review and would be more than happy to welcome you back again sometime soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very friendly/helpful staff. Quick check in, like the snacks they have available for purchase in the lobby for late nights. Only thing was our microwave wasn't working but the security guard obligingly warmed up our treats in their kitchen microwave without any hesitation. Decor throughout hotel (lobby,room) was modern. Definitely coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and all of our amenities. I have passed your comment to our staff who are always pleased to hear from satisfied guests. We can't wait to see you again on your next trip to San Diego!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Breakfast choices were great.
The staff was very accommodating and the room was great. Quiet and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and the time you spent with us. We appreciate your positive review and would be more than happy to welcome you back again sometime soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with all surrounding services!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Staff needs to be more carefull with customers.
Location: It near Downtown Chula Vista with many stores and restaurants.
It is a pleasant place. AC units was old and difficult to regulate but it was manageable, needs improvement. It has a small fitness center but not a good restaurant. There are plenty of dinning places surrounding this hotel. Good place for the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your response and for staying with us at The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista! We apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
nice buts beds were too soft
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista, and for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Clean and well-maintained hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I was happy to stay here! The staff was polite and helpful, and the hotel was clean. Early breakfast, with a good selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Fred S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your positive response on The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!! We take great pride in satisfying our guests and we will be sharing your positive comments with our staff! We appreciate you staying with us, and hope to see you back on your next trip to Chula Vista!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was friendly and very tentaive
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South Chula Vista, and for your "5 Star" rating! We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again sometime soon!