Ratings based on 595 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

It was a great stay. May 13- 20, 2017.

Posted May 21, 2017
The only problem I encountered was the tenant(s) in the room above me were stomping the entire night. Floor is not supported enough to reduce noise for a quit night. Otherwise, all is good and worth the money you're paying
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Clean and great staff. Second time staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Jessica R. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express National City. So happy that the team took great care of you. Hope we see you a third time :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

on the way to mexico

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: the close parking, breakfast and the nice clean bathroom
Cons: the fitness center, the equipment needs manteinance urgent
Location: right off the 805 freeway, perfect to take the cbx next morning
I stayed in this hotel to spent the night on my way to mexico, the hotel is very good as all of this brand, very clean and confortable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Jesssica R. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a few minutes to review our hotel. Happy that we took good care of you while you were a guest. We did notice that there was an issue with one of our gym machines and have a call out to get it serviced. We plan it have it up and running soon. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Pros and Cons

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: convenient location, decent clean room. Cons: Poor, diark, dim lighting in elevators, hallways, and our room which was dire and depressing. Upon arrival, floor near sink was not fully cleaned which had hair from prior customers. Room had view of neighbors houses, dried weeds, and bushes, noisy cars early in the morning. We would probably seek another San Diego location as this setting was unappealing and boring. Internet photos not consistent with real experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing thoughts about your stay. Our apologies that you had issues with your room, I will address this with our housekeeping team. We are looking at ways to brighten the elevator and hallways. Have a beautiful day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and good hotel.

Posted May 5, 2017
Nice hotel and good staff. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who drives it's about 12 mn from downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Jessica R, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn National City. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. I will be sure to share that with the team. You are correct we are only a few minutes away from downtown, so a great alternative for travelers. Thank you again, Jessica R General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Not up to Holiday Inn Express Standards

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Good hot breakfast. Good laundry facilities. Wifi OK.
Cons: Improve elevators. Exterminate the flies. Fix the ethernet jacks.
Location: Location OK.
They didn't clean our room two days out of our 7-day stay, and they blamed us for keeping the "do not disturb" ticket on the door. The ticket was not on the door. We left it inside the room. Noisy and hard to sleep on the weekend when a little-league baseball tournament filled the hotel with wild kids. They were partying until 2 AM and hotel staff didn't help. Shower drain backed up. It was repaired but the service man left dirty footprints all over the bathroom floor. Small flies in the hotel all the time. Lots of them in our room. Yet no flies outside. Dark elevators with dirty smelly carpet. Ethernet jacks not working at all. They sent a technician but he had no idea of how to fix it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Rosef, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. I do thank you for sharing your experience as it is through comments like yours that we can strive to improve our product and services. Rose Fierro General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
It was a quick overnight stay to agh an early flight so it was perfect for us and. Lose to all attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Rose F., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City . It's a huge compliment to hear that we're a winner among many other great hotel in the area. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your comments on our amenities and staff. We hope to see you again soon, Rose Fierro General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Excellent for South County

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Only a few choices that would meet my standards. Gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised! Arrived at 2am and happy to see good security in place. Front desk was helpful and hot tea in lobby. This is a Holiday Inn and it's National City...the room was perfect, super clean, great bed and linens, TV, coffee maker, fridge, good a/c and heat. Loved the small touches!! Great breakfast room with lots of choices!! I would definitely again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Rose F., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City . We look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convienient area

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The staff was great and the room was good. The only problem was the ac didn't work properly
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Rose F., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City . We look forward to welcoming you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express South- National City. We hope to see you again soon!