Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

La Jolla stay.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Pool.
Cons: MAid service
Location: Park is very nice.
Everything was fine, but maid did not remove old towels even when they left new ones.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit your review. We will absolutely address the housekeeping issue to ensure outstanding service for the rest of our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was excellent!

Posted May 1, 2017
The staff , Ann was the best!!🤗 Best of the best!!! She was so helpful,kind, and sooo patient!!! And friendly!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting your great review! Lori Anne is a true asset to the team, we appreciate the accolades for her. We hope to see you back here soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel. Close to beach

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Could have more hooks to hang towels and swimsuits on, a shelf for clean towels and a bigger shelf in the shower
Location: Beach
The hotel was clean and the pancakes for breakfast were awesome! Hotel has a pool and is walking distance to the beach. The staff is very friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay there again. It also has eating establishments within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great 5 star review! We enjoy our perfect location and yes, our pancake machine is pretty amazing. We will look into our bathroom storage areas, a few more hooks is always a good idea. We're excited to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

great hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Seriously great, friendly, helpful staff--from the check-in, the breakfast room, the room cleaners-- all smiling and happy.
Cons: We would love an extra shelf in the bathroom sink and shower area to set supplies.
Location: Our favorite is walking the paved beach walk. There is shopping, a variety of restaurants, and beach parks nearby.
We stay here 3-4 times each year to be close to relatives. The staff are super friendly and always remember us. The rooms have always been clean. The remodel gave a "beachy" look to the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manger, Hotel Management
Thank you for your loyalty and for submitting your wonderful review! We really appreciate the accolades for our staff, they all do so much to guarantee a fantastic guest experience. We look forward to your next visit with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

The best Holiday Inn Express so far

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, free breakfast
Cons: More towels in bathroom
Location: Everything from the beach to shopping to great restaurants are nearby.
Compared to a miserable room near Boston the night before, this hotel is paradise! Very friendly and accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Our perfect location is just like paradise. We hope you will think of us again when your travels bring you back to La Jolla.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Wedding

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We traveled from Venice, CA to attend a family wedding. The staff was expecting us and we were able to check in early to be ready for a 5pm event. We found the site very clean, recently remodeled and beautiful. It was quiet, too. We had breakfast the next morning and it was fresh with a lot to choose from to eat. We said we'd stay here again. In fact, we might come back for more than one night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Such a wonderful review! Our staff goes above and beyond to accommodate all of our guests' needs. We would love to see you for several days to take the time to enjoy all San Diego has to offer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We spent 2 nights at this hotel, very comfortable and very quiet. The pool is lovely and breakfast was fine. Rali checked us in and was very friendly and very helpful. Su Casa across the road was a great place for dinner. Very easy to get in and out of La Jolla village.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! I can think of nothing better than being the "ideal" hotel. Beyond our beautiful location and our spacious rooms, our staff is what makes us great. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, great breakfast, near the ocean

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time at this hotel. We had a poolside room. It was convenient, clean, and well-maintained. I think this was a great value. Will recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit your review. We're so happy you had a great time. We hope you can return soon to give us the opportunity to earn that 5th star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel suited our needs in location and quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Todd Husted, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and submitting your review. We enjoy our great location and pride ourselves on our room quality and guest service. We hope to see you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel near beach and my son!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Very fast check in, clean nice room near a great patio. The only small issue was clearly no weather strip around the entry door and 1/4 inch of daylight coming through. Didn't see any bugs thank goodness. The other was the bathroom was extremely small without an exhaust fan.......Not great. Could get the room steamy and smelly!! The pool area was awesome and very clean as was the breakfast dining room. The food was delicious, fresh and kept immaculate....And perfect temperature. Over all very happy with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Todd Husted , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your candid review. We are addressing the weather stripping immediately, thank you for letting us know. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and guest service, I'm happy that it enhanced your stay. We hope to see you back soon.