Ratings based on 1,324 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Thoughtful hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This hotel was such a wonderful find! They had everything we were looking for and more. We were there to take our 3 year old son to Legoland. The hotel is only 2 miles away and they offer free shuttle service to Legoland and back (you save a lot on parking). They offered complimentary breakfast and dinner. At dinner, they offer complimentary beer and wine 🍷. The rooms and common areas were all newly remodeled very Modern and clean. The room had a kitchen with stovetop, large fridge and dishwasher. I loved that there was a separate living room and bedroom (both rooms with TVs). This was a life saver because after our son went to bed early, my husband and I could hang out in the living room, watch a movie and didn't have to tip toe around. Great hotel for families!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Perfect for Business & Family

Posted May 11, 2017
In addition to excellent service above the free Breakfast is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

A very relaxing hotel near Legoland

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We'll definitely come back to this hotel. Located on a nice area at Carlsbad. Nice staff, nice and relaxing room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake, UT

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We loved our stay at this hotel. Rooms were great, food was plentiful and yummy. My kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The only thing I found wrong was that the dryer in the laundry room was very slow. We would come back here in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Awsome hotel. Close to legoland

Posted Apr 6, 2017
My family and I enjoyed every minute being at the homewood suites. Breakfast was better than what we expected and we love the complimentary food and beer...will definitely stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from superior, wi

Not what you plan

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Let me start by saying the homewood resort is great! It's just being able to stay there that's the problem. Wewe're traveling with 6 people, non-family members on our vacation to Carlsbad and so we thought the Homewood would be perfect for us having the 1 bedroom and a pull out couch. Plus we were planning on making our own meals to afford this trip so the full kitchen was what we needed. At about 6pm the night we were supposed to check in they call us and say that due to maintenance our room was no longer available (I am sure that what they meant was they overbooked and we were last to arrive so we got bumped)! So they were going to "accomodate" us by putting us in an "equivalent" hotel not related to this property at Carlsbad by the sea in a 2 bed standard room! First of all that's no where near equivalent and 6 people would never fit, so had to call again and say tell them this when they again "accomodated" us with the equivalent and got us 2 standard rooms there! Still not equivalent! Even though it was only for the one night it was VERY in convent to have to rearrage plans after a day of travel at the last min. Then have to unpack and repack in the AM for the 3rd time while just starting our vacation! Not to mention it was not equivalent at all! Homewood is a 4.5 star resort (and I agree) but the hotel they put us in had the motel feel with the room access being outdoors, definetely had no kitchen like we wanted or living room! I just wanted to stay where we booked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from edmonton,Alberta,Canada

Friendly,helpful staff. Great location .

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: As above! The total package at affordable rates.
Cons: Perhaps a bathtub clothes line.
Location: Legoland, Zoo, Beaches( including Coronado)
With grandchildren to visit legoland, zoo, and beaches.At the end of each day, it felt like we were returning home. We were asked how our day was and if we needed any help planning the next day's activities, shopping or restaurants.Loved the small plate options at 5pm!! A big help to families with young children. Kitchen staff are fabulous and dinning room kept very clean! Wonderful housekeeping!Rooms very clean and fresh to return to at the end of the day.A true resort feel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

I would recommend this hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel was clean and roomy. Staff was courteous and attentive. Breakfast was a plus and distance was o lego land and restaurants was good. I would recommend this hotel especially families with children.
5 out of 5
by Tricia

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
We love this hotel! This was our 5th stay in the hotel and we pick it each time because of the great staff, breakfasts, cleanliness, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton,Mi

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Suite hotel, available parking, good amenities
Cons: Room check-in was not until 4 and rooms were not available until then or later
Location: About 30 miles from airport. LEGOLAND and museum of making music close. Safari zoo not too far. 30-45 min to other attractions.
Staff was always available with recommendations and suggestions. Good breakfast provided in morning. Evening reception was a plus. Room amenities were good with enough space to be comfortable.