Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean room!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
I really liked the decor and cleanliness of the hotel. The front staff were helpful and polite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central in the hotel district.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The room was relatively clean. Bathroom had been renovated not that long ago. It is a basic hotel and you got what you paid for.
Unexpected charges after thinking it was prepaid in Australia. The exhaust fan did not work in the bathroom. Was reported and was not fixed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is clean however has bed bugs!

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Stayed in room 243 and woke up with bites all over my body, this place has bed bugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Good location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Very inexpensive hotel near fashion valley Mall . Very clean and nice. Not what I expected in a good way. They have a small pool and jacuzzi. Some of the rooms have a kitchen in them but I switched to have a bigger room without a kitchen and the customer service was great. The front desk was very accommodating to my needs. Would def stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sophia, Thank you for your kind words! We love to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our lovely, well-appointed accommodations. It's great to be able to offer our guests choices based on their room preference. We're also glad that you enjoyed our location and fabulous staff! We hope your travels bring you back this way for another wonderful stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

I didn't stay the night

Posted Jun 29, 2017
It was a last minute trip to SD. I booked the hotel through Expedia (I've used Expedia before and have been pleased) I drove at about 11:30pm from LA to San Diego and I finally get to the hotel (almost 2am) and the guy at the reception tells me I'm a day early (my mistake I thought it was Friday but it was actually Thursday) i told him if I could cancel because I thought it was Friday. He said no because I had already paid for it. I was so tired and just wanted to sleep so I asked for a room and he told me there was no room available. He rude and didn't even seem to care that I accidentally booked the room for the wrong day. I hate the fact that you can change the date or cancel your transaction! It's inconvenient and rude, especially when you have nothing to offer a PAYING CUSTOMER! I had to drive back home that night because there was no rooms available anywhere. I drove all night and spend about $200 for nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lilly, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback on your recent experience with us at Hotel Iris. We are extremely sorry that you did not have a good experience with our staff and will continue to do our best to provide our guests with quality customer service and will work hard to improve our staff's interactions with our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with the quality experience that we strive to provide our guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Party room..Not a hotel !

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: Respond to complaints.
Location: Parking was minimal, and tight. Had to drive, to get to any activity.
Had to call front desk 6 times in one night about the loud music from rooms next door and above me. Music started at 8:00 PM and went til 1:00 AM. (Loud bass thumping noise) Their security said he didn't hear it. Manager finally came to investigate, as music could clearly be heard in parking lot. He knocked on their door and told them to turn it down. That lasted about 4 minutes, then came back on even Louder. Another front desk call. This time they refused to answer door. Manager tried calling them..no answer. I got out of bed, went to front desk and asked for my money back, to check out. Was told NO, as I had prepaid for 2 nights. When I got back to my room, found out my door lock was broken. My key wouldn't work, hotel security's key wouldn't work. So I stood outside, listening to more RAP music, while they tried to repair the lock, for half an hour. Music continued on, at party levels, for 4 more hours, stopping about 1:00 AM. Next night, music started from same room, about 6:00 PM. I called front desk. They came to room next door, guide by music, and told them to keep it down. Front desk called me and said they told them to keep it at an acceptable level . Continued on. If you want a Hip-HOP Rap festival in your room while you are trying to sleep...THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience. It sounds like you ran into a restless situation which was not made better by our team. While we are glad your room was clean, we understand it doesn't make up for the lack of sleep you received. Again, we are sorry and if you are ever in the San Diego area in the future we'd like the chance to make it up to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

For a remodel it leaves much to be desired

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The king suite smelled like gym locker. The tile floors looked nice but were covered in a sticky dust. There was a hole in the ceiling above the shower that looked like water damage from the room above. The drain in the middle of the bathroom floor was an accident waiting to happen, it wasn't sealed and could be tripped on easily. I couldn't tell if the "distressed" cabinets in the bathrooms were on purpose since the hotel boasted Modern updates. The mattress was horrible, the sheets smelled like smoke even though it was supposed to be non smoking. My wife and I had 1 day away from the kids and we wanted a cozy modern get away to be lazy for a day. We ended up in a cold uncomfortable dirty room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us constructive feedback on your stay. We are disappointed to hear that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the conditions that you encountered during your stay and will discuss your experience with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure that the issues that you encountered are resolved immediately. It is our hope that you will consider coming back to give us the opportunity to change your perception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and convenient. Close to the freeway.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
It was very nice and clean. Close to the freeway. I will recommend it to my friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We are excited by the prospect of welcoming your friends and family! We would also love to host you again for another excellent visit. Thank you for choosing Hotel Iris and for sharing your delightful compliments!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures do not depict condition of room

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Very disappointed! Was partial renovation in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We consider all guest feedback to be a great value to our continued improvement. We know how frustrating renovations can be and we're sorry if you felt misled in any way. We aim to portray an accurate depiction of our property across all our websites. We encourage all of our guests to notify our staff of any aspects that are unsatisfactory while staying with us. By bringing issues to the attention of our team, we have the opportunity to find a solution and make your stay more comfortable. Please know your feedback is very helpful and we'd love if you gave us a second chance.