Ratings based on 1,264 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Very nice hotel. Convenient to restaurants, other activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Motel

Posted May 1, 2017
Please don't confuse the Hotel La Jolla as an actual hotel. This is in fact a motel!!!! Notice that none of the pictures show the back of the building where you enter your room from the outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Disliked all the hidden charges , as a result I will not recommend this hotel ,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

A Favorite Hotel (Needs Updates)

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Room Design, Layout, Style.
Cons: New carpet, new mattresses.
Location: Walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and a quick drive to the cove.
One of our favorite hotels in La Jolla. Still great, but hope they do a few upgrades to the rooms in the next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Expensive Stay, Lame View

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: -Room was clean, modern, and functional -Lobby and hotel grounds were very well kept -Friendly service
Cons: -Mandatory valet parking for high price (I never stayed at a hotel where you had to pay for parking, let alone 34 bucks). Need more characters to type
Location: Awesome location, close to beach and balboa park.
If you are on a business trip and are having all of your travel expenses covered, then I probably would recommend this hotel, but paying out of my own pocket made my expectations high, and this experience was overpriced and disappointing. Pros: -Free complimentary drink from the bar/restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. We both got hot chocolate which is not a menu item but they graciously made us a delicious chocolate concoction. Nice view up there too. -Room was clean, modern, and functional -Lobby and hotel grounds were very well kept -Friendly service Cons -Pricey hotel room with "Ocean View" cost extra, but on the fourth floor all you could see was a tiny sliver of blue above one of the distant buildings. Got a great view of the parking lot though. -Pricey 34 dollar valet service is mandatory if you want to park in their parking lot.I have never encountered a hotel where you have to pay for your own parking. Valet service made me park my car anyway and did not move it anywhere overnight. We argued our point and they gave us a refund on our way out, so props for to the customer service for hearing us out and paying us back. -Very noisy evening, there must have been construction going on outside at 12am? That is what it sounded like. Our "Ocean View" room on the 4th floor was right above the parking lot, so lots of door slamming and car beeping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Orbitz
My stay was average, our room had stains and there where no convenient parking you are forced to pay the $35 parking fee. The room was very noisy due to the outside traffic. No a very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
This place isn't really worth the money nor is it a place you should stay for business or if you need sound rest. The hotel is an older hotel that they tried to modernize and make boutique-like, but they neglected to properly sound proof. I was awoken by the room above me getting cleaned or even the person next door getting their room service. The walls are paper thin. Also everything in the hotel and the area closes pretty early so you are out of luck if you need to grab a late evening bite or drink. All that said the staff is very pleasant and courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good concept -- Poorly Implemented

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Design of the lobby and location.
Cons: The linens and they way they make the bed is ridiculous. You sit on it, the sheet moves and you are on the mattress itself. Pillows horrible.
Staff was wonderful but terribly disappointed with hotel! Beds uncomfortable, sheets wouldn't tuck in so sleeping in a mess all night, pillows the size of a postage stamp, very noisy rooms. Design concept could have been good but poorly executed. Good location but not worth the money. Construction scaffolds covered our balcony, staff said they couldn't move us. Would never recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Noisy, bad beds, with few of the usual perks.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
You have to pay $35 per day to park. No free parking. The beds are platform beds low to the floor, very uncomfortable. The rooms are extremely noisy. They even put ear plugs by your bed. No soundproofing at all. And there is no business center where you can print your boarding pass. No hot tub. The staff is very sweet and apologetic, but nothing they can do. Good location though. The rooms are clean.
3 out of 5
by Jerry

The staff was very helpful

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The bathroom door was broken and the clock was not reset to DST.