Ratings based on 3,155 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Great location, noisy room high extra fees

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Wall insulation
Location: San Diego has tons of things to do and good restaurants. We went to the zoo and Wild animal safari both are world calss
We had a nice semi suite in a great location. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately our room backed up to a elevator and it sounded like a thunder storm 24 hours a day in our room. Resort fee of $29 a day and parking was around $38 each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NM

Nice views of marina and sea lions

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Kid friendly, area is awesome, views are great!
Cons: They need to reconfigure the pool area so it is not so windy and cold.
Location: I really liked the location if you don't mind walking. We walked to the beach everyday and it is a pretty good walk. Parking is awful in San Diego.
I really loved the area of this hotel. It is fairly easy to get around just about anywhere from the hotel. The staff is super friendly. We had one guy working the valet parking and I wish I would have gotten his name, but I swear he gave awesome directions every single day. We did not even need to use a GPS with him around. This hotel is kid friendly too. The absolute only thing I would say negatively about the hotel is that the pool always seems to be windy and cold. It can be 80 degrees outside in the front of the hotel and you go to the back to swim and it is so windy and cold for some odd reason. I don't know if the hotels layout just makes wind circle around the pool area, but that really does stink because I love to lay out at the pool. They have waterslides for the kids and my kids wouldn't even get in them because it was so cold. :{
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted May 23, 2017
Food was excellent! Everyone was very nice, but because Rosa in the gift shop decided to touch my new born infant in the hands without asking my permission I give them 4 instead of a 5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste your money here

Posted May 23, 2017
Long story short - only thing nice about this place is the area it's in. You would think you're staying a $80/ night hotel with the service that you get here. Don't make the mistakes that I made by overlooking the negative reviews. Chose this place for my wedding weekend stay and it's the one thing I regret.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

In the middle of nowhere

Posted May 22, 2017
Shouldn't have to pay additional fee per night when at other hotels the facilities are included in price. ...and 37.00 / night to park your car! ! Ridiculous! ! Not even a microwave which we have had in the most cheapest hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Lovely facility, convenient location, would return

Posted May 21, 2017
With the exception of waitress at our first breakfast at Marlin Restaurant, staff is excellent. After that we avoided breakfast there. Food was very good. Overall stay was fun....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Large rooms overlooking the marina

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Area, room.
Location: Close by, harbor for trips around the bay including navy ships. Old Town for authentic Mexican village area. Coast road to travel Northward to LA
Stayed May 2017. Originally booked a garden room but we were upgraded with a choice of Tower or Suite on our 2am arrival. We were also allowed to extend our room for free on departure day until 2.30 pm, which was helpful with a later flight. We opted for a suite on the ground floor of a small block and our balcony overlooked the marina - in fact it was only a matter of feet away. Breakfast was available in either a cafe takeaway or a restaurant within a few minutes walk around the marina. Food was good, although pricey and service was good. The room we had was large with a comfortable king size bed and a decent bathroom. my partner was woken in the night a few times by a sea lion that had taken residence not far from our window, but I slept through, so wasn't a big problem - rather cute in fact! Apart from being in a pleasant area by the marina the hotel is a little out of the way of San Diego itself so a car is pretty much essential to get around, although at times it wasn't easy finding a space in hotel car park. Having said that, it only took 5 or 10 minutes to get to all the places we wanted to go and there is an abundance of choices of restaurants and bars throughout San Diego (see my other reviews for where we went). Overall a pleasant stay at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 16, 2017
This was our 4th visit in the last 10 years. Glad we didn't bring the kids this time as the water slides were not running. For paying an extra resort fee you would expect things to be operating. Front desk staff was not very helpful with an upper room request that we were told we'd get the day before. Those two things aside, we still love visiting this hotel and would come back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction was noisy ...parking was crazy...

Posted May 7, 2017
Parking was the worst...extra Charges for it was unbelievable...extra resort charges were crazy since we did not use any of the facilities , should have been an option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Portland

Overall good, but not top of the game.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location Great
Cons: Room amenities, our room did not have hairdryer, coffee machine not working......
Location: Great location, if you have a car....otherwise chose different
Pool is suitable for kids and to have a dip, if you are hot. Downside is that pool is in shade of the sun the whole morning. Restaurant fees are in the top of the market.