Ratings based on 3,172 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
All the staff were more than helpful... And the all round experience was lovely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was only ok - not great.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Proximity to Sea World was great but the Hotel was so-so. The resort fees and parking are too high when you consider what's included, basically Wi-Fi and bottled water (which were forgotten on 2 of the 5 days we were there). We had four guests and only 3 towels were provided each day, shouldn't housekeeping know how many guests are staying in each room! The resort was ok but not really what I expected from the Hyatt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great location

Posted May 31, 2017
We picked this hotel because of the location and it didn't disappoint. It was minutes from Mission Beach, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo and many more attractions. The pool area was amazing, but the slides pictured are currently under renovation and weren't on or available for use during our stay. That was a disappointment for our daughter... my three biggest complaints. 1. Our "Suite" room in the tower most definitely was NOT a suite. There is a small piece of see through fabric between the "bedroom area" and the "living room area" that offered no privacy. We booked a suite specifically so we would have a separate sleeping area from our daughter, but this was not the case. 2. The room cleanliness and condition did not meet my standards for a hotel that ran almost $300 a night. The carpet was warm, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls in places and the bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked. 3. This is more a complaint against Expedia. I bought a package that claimed to include "breakfast for two". I assumed that to mean that we would get breakfast each day. This is not the case. You get a $50 resort credit at the onsite restaurant who's buffet is $27 a person. The credit didn't even cover one breakfast..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the marina

Posted May 30, 2017
Hotel and location were good. The only reason behind room comfort was due to the location. I was in a room next to the elevator and was quite loud. The windows are old as well amd didnt keep the sound out. Otherwise a good hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Disappointing

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: I loved the pool and outside atmosphere. Everything about the trees/gardens was beautiful. Staff were very nice.
Cons: I'd say the list of things that do not need to be improved would be a lot shorter.
Location: Not a lot.
Honestly, I'm not sure how this hotel passes for 4 star. I mean, I'm not sure if there is anyone who enforces this kind of thing, but I was just at a 3 star hotel that FAR surpassed the quality of this hotel. My sister, my mom and I arrived and upon entering the room the smell was pretty bad. I mean, it smelled moldy or something I'm not sure. The room also seemed dirty, pretty dusty. We requested a change of room, which I will say, the request was met with great staff. I have no complaints of the staff. However, the second room carried the same old-ish smell, though not quite as bad. We wanted to open the windows but there were no screens so to keep bugs out we kept the windows closed... The TV was an absolute joke. Every 10 minutes the sound would be off (like, it didn't match the people's mouths moving), so we had to turn the TV off and back on. The remote was so slow. It was just obnoxious. Everything was just old and dingy and gross. It was not a 4 star experience. Also, can we talk about the automatic light in the bathroom? It was SO annoying. The light would turn off while you were showering because the sensor was absolute garbage. It's like, the one thing this hotel decided to update they cheaped out on and now it's just one more added annoyance. I would have rather spent less on a cheaper yet cleaner experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Beautiful hotel, but too many excess fees

Posted May 29, 2017
We stayed here for about 5 days. It is a beautiful hotel, loved the Regency on the 17th floor. Great continental breakfast, midafternoon Salads and a evening dessert bar. The rooms were nice and the views were spectacular. We were upgraded upon a arrival after a very long and troublesome travel from New York which was a nice bonus for us. The cons of this hotel are as follows: the pool is located in a high wind area. It was late May and nearly impossible to swim in the pool due to the chill. The drinks are high priced, they charge a daily resort fee (it's hardly a resort) and daily parking fee of $37 a day. These fees add up can cost more than what you paid for the hotel stay. Although we enjoyed it there due to the view and the Regency (there is an added cost to take advantage of the Regency food/accommodations), we were better off renting a house by the water for less money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Great location, noisy room high extra fees

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Wall insulation
Location: San Diego has tons of things to do and good restaurants. We went to the zoo and Wild animal safari both are world calss
We had a nice semi suite in a great location. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately our room backed up to a elevator and it sounded like a thunder storm 24 hours a day in our room. Resort fee of $29 a day and parking was around $38 each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NM

Nice views of marina and sea lions

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Kid friendly, area is awesome, views are great!
Cons: They need to reconfigure the pool area so it is not so windy and cold.
Location: I really liked the location if you don't mind walking. We walked to the beach everyday and it is a pretty good walk. Parking is awful in San Diego.
I really loved the area of this hotel. It is fairly easy to get around just about anywhere from the hotel. The staff is super friendly. We had one guy working the valet parking and I wish I would have gotten his name, but I swear he gave awesome directions every single day. We did not even need to use a GPS with him around. This hotel is kid friendly too. The absolute only thing I would say negatively about the hotel is that the pool always seems to be windy and cold. It can be 80 degrees outside in the front of the hotel and you go to the back to swim and it is so windy and cold for some odd reason. I don't know if the hotels layout just makes wind circle around the pool area, but that really does stink because I love to lay out at the pool. They have waterslides for the kids and my kids wouldn't even get in them because it was so cold. :{
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted May 23, 2017
Food was excellent! Everyone was very nice, but because Rosa in the gift shop decided to touch my new born infant in the hands without asking my permission I give them 4 instead of a 5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste your money here

Posted May 23, 2017
Long story short - only thing nice about this place is the area it's in. You would think you're staying a $80/ night hotel with the service that you get here. Don't make the mistakes that I made by overlooking the negative reviews. Chose this place for my wedding weekend stay and it's the one thing I regret.