Ratings based on 1,015 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Traditional Hotel neighboring Balboa Park

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: "style" is distinctive and worth maintaining and burnishing.
Fulfilled expectations as to facilities quality and location. Rooms offer ample space, and decor is attractive in the traditional sense. Staff was attentive and responsive; desk on site was available through wee hours. Terrace/breakfast facility warrants being mentioned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but disappointing experience

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It is in a great location. I really find it to be a beautiful hotel and the renovations are quite nice.
Cons: Learn from the things that worked as Park Inn Suites or Top of the Park years ago. Too many changes have been made that aren't positive.
stayed at this location about 5 years ago and really loved the experience. when i knew I was returning to San Diego, I wante to stay at this hotel again. I found that it had changed names, but that didn't bother me at all. But what I foundwas quite different than my first experience. First, upon arrival, I was greeted by a "sales pitch" for a free breakfast about Wyndham and all i had to do is give a credit card and $20.00 to get my free gift ordered. I wouldn't say which morning I would attend, so every time I was seen in the lobby, i was asked to confirm my time. I finally said I was in San Diego for vacation, not a sales pitch. I never went to the breakfast and I did get my money refunded. It was totally annoying in my opinion. Next, the room was never cleaned during my stay. I had to call for clean towels, which were brought to me. I later found out that they don't clean the rooms regularly during guests' extended stays. I am not sure if that is true or not. But I was there for 3 nights and no one ever came into the room during my stay. For the price I paid, I would have expected the bed to be made and the room made tidy each day as other hotels do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

A can of air freshener doesn't make it clean

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Stale smelling room masked by air freshener. Dirty carpet and housekeeping did not make bed after first night. Avoid unless you just want a place to leave your luggage.
5 out of 5
by Tien

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great hotel close to San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Wotif
Wish we could have stayed longer and got some use out of the gorgeous kitchen. Loved the dressing room and twin sofa beds. Handy location close to attractions and places to dine.
5 out of 5
by Hannah

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely loved the room it was so nice! Already made plans to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
This was the perfect spot for the two of us to explore San Diego. We enjoyed our studio unit that included a kichenette so not all meals had to be eaten out. It didn't matter to us that there wasn't a pool because we were too busy exploring. The beautiful Balboa Park was a short walk away with all its museums and gardens. Several restaurant options were within walking distance as well as a Whole Foods. We didn't have a car but got around easily to farther attractions with Uber or the bus. The staff was friendly and helpful making our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Hiromi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels