Ratings based on 2,745 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great hotel, great small pool with expansive lounging areas surrounding it. Great location for Gaslamp and Petco park. Tip: cheaper self parking one block up the street at Park It on Market.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Uncomfortable beds, a few things didn't work well. Overall was okay but not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

To short, didn't like the 4pm Check in.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
It's was ok but not Worth $400 for less than a 20 hour stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Steve, great location, great staff, great stay !

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I had a great experience at the Kimpton Solamar. It started and finished with the pleasant staff. The location is great, in the heart of the grasslamp district, you are surrounded by restaurants and bars and just minutes from the San Diego airport. The recently renovated room was both clean and comfortable. I'd stay there again if I get back to San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you so much for your feedback, Steve! Hopefully you'll be able to join us again soon. All the best, Marissa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the top 10 hotels that I have ever stayed

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The staff was fantastic and they really care. I travel a lot and appreciate how they cater to their customers
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
You are amazing. Thank you so much for the great review! Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Marissa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great stay!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Location: Excellent
Overall, we had a great time and the location was perfect! Highlights: we brought our dog for no additional charge, the restaurant was delicious and the perks -- like free wine/beer and cheese were a real nice touch!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review, A! Come back and hang with us again soon. Best, Marissa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to convention center

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Ideal combination of walking distance to the convention enter and immersed in the activity of the city surrounded by restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the perfect review! Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Marissa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Perfect downtown location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Top notch restaurant. Pool lounging and bar area were terrific
Cons: Two elevators for entire hotel seemed too few. I would have liked a jacuzzi or a spa area to do some relaxing in, as the pool area was all about fun.
Location: We had a terrific time just walking around downtown and the marina. We also did a highly recommended Segway tour with I love tourists.
Loved the perfect downtown location. The restaurant and the pool area were certainly highlights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the review, Trina! Hopefully you're able to join us again soon! All the best, Marissa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego. ca

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Cons: $50 to park your car? Wow, WAY over the top. Crazy. Maybe in NYC, but not San Diego.
Was ok. A bit overpriced for what you get Overpriced for what you get
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Hotel Solamar San Diego. Regarding the parking, our nightly costs include our staffed valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain safe, secure and accessible in our covered parking. That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels. While there are less expensive options in the area, we’ve found we’re extremely competitive to the other hotels in the area. We’re always happy to direct our guests to less expensive options but are careful to stress they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience. Hope that helps, thanks so much for joining us and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon! Best, Marissa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Kimpton Solamar San Diego

Posted May 31, 2017
We had a great time here. Location can't be beat. Super courteous desk staff & valet. There was always someone available to help. Room was clean. Overall I would give it 4 out of 5 stars though for a few small reasons. Our room was dark and looked directly across at another hotels windows. There were no towel racks in the bathroom so we just had to leave the hand and face towels sitting wet on the countertop. The lobby was always freezing. There are not enough lounge chairs in the pool area. (Should consider reducing reserved cabana seating and increasing regular seating). The decor is eclectic to put it nicely. But overall, all of the important things were covered. Like cleanliness, ease of checkin, all of that. Really appreciated the free coffee in the lobby. They have a happy hour too. we will definitely consider staying here again next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Marissa, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, Christina! I'm happy you were able to enjoy your stay. Feel free to let us know next time you're joining us so we can make sure you get a better view. Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Marissa