Ratings based on 2,706 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gig Harbor, WA

Lots of noise from the streets

Posted May 20, 2017
Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, don't forget your earplugs. Very loud area at night, otherwise great hotel, friendly staff and conveniently located for easy walking to anywhere downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted May 20, 2017
Perfect location, great restaurants. What more can I say...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to Gaslamp

Posted May 16, 2017
Kimpton hotels are always nice to stay at. This one is close to many San Diego Gaslamp quarter venues. Walkable distance. Hotel is clean, room we stayed in was clean, great attentive staff, efficient as always. We had a good night sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Clean and modern

Posted May 13, 2017
Clean and comfortable room with some style. Food delicious but in room delivery times limited, which can be challenging if you have a busy schedule. Location convenient. All around a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Cool hotel close to everything

Posted May 13, 2017
The Solamar is right at the heart of the old town (Gaslight District) but also very close to the exhibition and waterfront areas. Also very quiet and peaceful at night, so I had 3 great nights of sleep. The staff were always friendly and a shout out to the front desk guy for his advice on how to improve the jogging route from the one on their map. I'll definitely return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheating

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff and Manager do not provided what they promised in Room Details. It clearly says Microwave is available but they do not have Microwaves at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Very nice clean hotel staff was very professional small drawbacks toilet was broken and never addressed and wine they served for cocktail was awful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: All was great
Cons: Would be nice to get Kimpton points even though we booked via Expedia
Location: Downtown location. Walking distance to convention center and many restaurants and activities
Booked room for customer. They said very nice property good location, friendly front desk. All excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston Jamaica

Boutique style abounds

Posted May 2, 2017
From the stylish decor to the hipster pool deck and lounge this place was a treat. Unexpectedly despite it being 'cool', the staff were warm and welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
I recommend it. Great staff and quick response time to any needs.