Ratings based on 1,323 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay near docks and beach! Lovely room.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pleasantly surprised by the variety of things to do, lovely restaurant and great staff. We would recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Almost perfect location but hotel is tired.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Stayed here about ten years ago and it was really delightful but it is getting very tired now. However still worth considering given the wonderful location and it does have some history.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tri-State Area

UNDER RENOVATION - Did not know

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Food decent, portions large. Location.
Cons: Rooms, beach, parking.
Location: lots of options nearby!! San Diego very accessible and easy drive to downtown. I liked being away from city center but close enough.
Hotel is currently under renovations. The entire main entrance is closed and there is a temporary one. Also, there is a brand new building being built at the end of the row of various buildings that have additional hotel rooms. We were placed NEXT to the construction, our room smelled like sewage when we walked in and the towels had stains on them. Additionally, the bath tub was old and scratched/old looking. We were so tired the night we arrived and we were told hotel completely booked so we had to stay in our room. We asked to switch in the AM. Staff was fine, but not overly accommodating. They said they would work on switching. Once we moved to the main building and got a new room, things improved, but it still was NOT a 4 star hotel in my opinion. More like a 3 Star. The room we were moved to was clearly a smoking room so it smelled. This was unfortunate as I am not a smoker and because I was traveling with my 12 year old daughter. We did not want to complain again though so we stuck it out. Room was cleaner than separate building rooms. If you stay at this hotel, make sure to ask BEFORE booking the following: 1. Is room smoking room? 2. is room a PET FRIENDLY room? 3. Is room in MAIN building or in a separate building? Pool was nice although small. Beach was not really a beach because it is on the inlet so there was a patch of sand with a few cabanas but then a bunch of rocks (so you could not swim) and boat docks so if you could swim, you wouldn't.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice property - could be better

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Loved the location and overall facility. Service was a little sloppy though: only one person working the front desk, no towels at the pool late afternoon, no fresh towels until we asked - all fixable though. Major construction underway too which was a surprise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel location was really nice. However, we paid top dollars to stay here and the experience wasn't as good. The hotel is going on a major construction and everywhere around you was construction. It took us nearly 15 minutres to find the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingston, ontario

Lovely hotel, great location overlooking marina

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Lovely hotel .. front entrance under refurb but didn't affect stay. Great restaurant .& staff . lovely pool & hot tub.. only drawback no other facilities for children and busy at weekend when cabanas got rented out to large groups. Great location right on waterfront with own beach although imported sand & not a walk into ocean. Loved shelter island area too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Beautiful room and location but room had an old smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Good, very nice room beautiful hotel and have good services, my family love it so much
5 out of 5
by Melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Katherine

WISHED I COULD HAVE CANCELLED MY STAY.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
DIRTY ROOM. OUTDATED. WAY OVER PRICED. UNDER CONSTUCTION. COULDN'T EVEN FIND ANY DOOR ACCESS. FREEZING INSIDE HOTEL. FIRST ROOM HEATER SAID DO NOT USE. ROBES HAD TO BE REQUESTED. REFRIGERATOR ONLY COOL, RUINED OUR FOOD. ONE COFFEE FOR A ROOM WITH 2 BEDS, ONE? REALLY. NEVER WILL WE RETURN TO THIS HOTEL. NEXT DOOR BEST WETERN ISLAND PALMS WAS BEAUTIFUL AND THAT IS WHERE WE WILL STAY.