Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from park city

Awesome Private Beach in La Jolla

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We loved our beachfront room! We could hear the waves all night long...very comfy bed - fabulous sleep. The property is classic, not luxurious but clean and nice. La Jolla Beach & Tennis club is steeped in tradition. There are so many things to do with kids. But the ocean is our favorite part of the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Location is unbeatable. Our room was updated and the staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach spot.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great beach spot, was clean and easy going. Staff was friendly and prompt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Unauthorized Charges

Posted Mar 25, 2017
I stayed in an ocean front condominium at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club (LJBTC) from February 22-25, 2017. I booked my 3-night stay through Expedia and paid the charges in full in advance. When I checked out of the property and turned in the keys, the Front Desk manager asked if I wanted a copy of my bill and I said no because there aren't any charges since the bill was fully paid in advance on Expedia and I hadn't used any of the resort's tennis/ pool facilities or even eaten at the property since the purpose of the visit was to visit my brother's family who live nearby. After returning home, I received an email copy of a bill for $175 WITH NO DETAIL other than "guest charges." I immediately called the property to discuss the erroneous, unauthorized charge. I was informed over the phone that the charges related to my brother who lives in La Jolla, driving into the resort and picking me up at the lobby. Apparently, the undocumented policy of which I was never informed, is that anyone entering the property incurs a guest fee, even if their intent is simply to pick someone up. Hence, my brother and his wife simply driving through the gate and dropping off a boogie board in front of the lobby or driving in to pick me up to go into town for dinner counted as a "guest" $25 resort charge. He was never notified by the gate attendant that driving on to the property would result in a guest charge. How crazy. To reiterate, when I checked into the Beach Club, no one notified
5 out of 5
by LORETTA

Breathtaking views

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
The service was very professional and five star. I felt like a treasured guest and this was my first stay.
5 out of 5
by Rhonda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Loralee

Great location - rooms need upgraded big time!

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in an amazing location and we had a 1 bedroom suite on the beach which made it extra special. The staff were very accommodating/helpful and professional. The rooms are outdated and could use a face lift for sure. I'm not sure it's worth the price they command, but we did really enjoy our stay. (wifi was horrific, but then we were on the beach, so didn't really need the internet)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beach lovers dream

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
The club has many available amenities, glorious beach access and views, and good staff. . The bed was comfortable, as was the rest of the furniture. The room itself was in need of a sprucing up--the furnishings are looking a bit tired but are still quite serviceable. This isn't my favorite place to stay in the area, but if you like beaches, it would be hard to beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach

Very nice hotel. Beautiful room, beautiful locale

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Just stayed for one night, but would go back again. I don't play much tennis or golf, but a dream for someone who does. I enjoyed the beachfront location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

SD hotel next to beach

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: very kind staff & nice area Cons: paid $350 so that after my seminar was over (10pm)....pretty much everything closed at the resort. No jacuzzi. Pool closed. All restaurants/bar closed. One day wasted. There were a few people right outside my door talking when I went in my small room. (Room did open right on the beach w great view in am). No microwave in room. Tennis pros not available in The morning. Did I mention no jacuzzi?? Wouldn't say it was "worth it".