Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton UK

Well run budget hotel in a good location

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Competitive price, clean, comfortable, good location, friendly helpful competent staff.
Cons: For my needs, nothing.
Location: Close to the beach and the joys of La Jolla. Easy drive to San Diego with all that has to offer.
I booked this on the basis of mostly good reviews of hotel facilities and friendly staff. These were entirely justified, the room was comfortable and quiet, clean and well serviced. The staff, Tricia in particular, were helpful and friendly. The location, a few minutes walk from the beach and superb sunsets and an easy drive to downtown San Diego, was perfect. I will use this hotel again on my next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location and incredibly nice staff.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and staff.
Cons: Better pillows, some soft and some medium. Thicker, softer towels.
Location: The ocean was only a couple of blocks away, and the sunsets are breathtaking.
The hotel was clean, with nice size rooms. Having a refrigerator was great, too. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Nice, simple breakfast was available, along with trays so you could bring it to your room. The pillows and towels definitely could use an upgrade. Also, try to get an upstairs room, as we were on the first floor and could hear the people above us moving around. Overall, for the price, this was a great deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, only two blocks

Posted May 21, 2017
Cons: Lights above bed were centered over the head board and were a bit low, banged my head few times while sitting in bed.
Location: Few near by places to eat, close to the hotel, but better restaurants were in the La Jolla cove area with healthier choices and better views.
Rooms were clean and good size, except for the few rooms that were under the stairs and dark. But we asked for another room and were immediately accommodated. Beds were comfortable, staff was friendly, adequate pool and spa. Breakfast was just right and there was unlimited tea, coffee, bottled water and fruit all day. Bus stop on the corner takes you to downtown SD and Pacific beach if you want to avoid parking hustle, close enough to La Jolla Cove on foot, about 30 min slow walk, but very short drive there and to La Jolla Shores. The local beach was only two blocks away, short and pleasant walk. It was a bit rocky but heaven for surfers, but there were patches of sandy areas where the water was calm and swimmable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel. Decent location.

Posted May 3, 2017
Short drive to all La Jolla points of interest. Non- descript neighborhood a few blocks away from Windandsea Beach. Decent restaurants a block away. Spent three days here. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not fancy but comfortable

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, location
Cons: Update bathroom and decor
Location: La Holla coastline, Prospect Street
Room was not fancy (decor outdated) but clean and good location. We were hardly in the room so it was a good value for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Close to beach.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Very nice staff. Good continental breakfast. Clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Posted Apr 7, 2017
I'm gonna start with the best part. The location is great the beach is right there and parking is free. Will was very cool and helpful. I was able to check in quite early and that was very appreciated even if it not the norm. Okay so now for the bad... It needs a facelift but I'm okay with it as is because a facelift would also raise rates. Also it can be a bit lid if you like to sleep in a it because housekeeper can be heard doors down from your own. Bottom line is the place is older but staff was great and I loved how close it was to the beach without actually being there and close to main attractions without the crowds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windandsea Travelodge

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: location, staff
Location: close to beach
Friendly staff, clean basic room... nice location, bare bones but that's what I was anticipating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are happy that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. The La Jolla Beach Travelodge has the best value for your money than anywhere else in pricy La Jolla. Our value varies from FREE parking, FREE WiFi, Air Conditioned rooms and a FREE Bear Bites continental breakfast including fresh bagels, pastries, Danish, muffins, 2 types of Kellogg’s cereal, white or wheat toast, oatmeal, fruit, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate, orange juice, whole and 2% milk, bottled water and more. We also have a heated pool and Jacuzzi to relax in after a day on the town. Thanks again for taking the time and writing us this nice review, we hope to see you the next time you visit La Jolla!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Outdated rooms. Very noisy as workers were working in various parts of the hotel. Terrible so called breakfast consisted of coffee toast and some junkie sweets. Milk was 2 days over the expiring date and sour. Great staff. Very friendly. Great breakfast cafe next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the compliments about our staff. Our FREE breakfast is as complete as we can make it, considering that we are not a restaurant. We serve bagels, white and brown bread, muffins, Danish and pastries. There is cream cheese, peanut butter, jelly and honey. Fresh apples and oranges are available in the office all day. We serve coffee, tea, orange juice, milk and hot chocolate. We appreciate you letting the front desk know one of the milk containers was expired. We are always here to help you with any issues you might have. Cafe Vahik is a great place next door to have a hot breakfast. Our housekeepers and maintenance people always work on updating the rooms and improving the property. We update the rooms one by one and do our best to minimize the noise. If you are very sensitive to noise, please, let us know. We'll reserve a quiet room upstairs for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windandsea gem

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Another great visit! This is my go-to place when I am visiting San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are tremendously happy to be your go-to place when you stay in San Diego. We appreciate you taking the time and writing us this awesome 5 star review and for being such a loyal customer.