Ratings based on 1,636 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Perfect location to the beach and restaurants. Room is plain but very clean and comfortable, one warning: since you are by the beach, there are loud birds all day and night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Room Maintenance Needed

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: I liked being able to walk the beach that was in front of the hotel. The Marine Room was the very best dining experience we had while in California.
Cons: Maintain the rooms. Our room smelled musty and had broken windows.
Location: The hotel is located in La Jolla shores and has several quaint and good restaurants within walking distance.
When we arrived, there was no shower curtain. The louvered windows above the door and in the bathroom were all broken and could not be closed. Because it was the 4th of July weekend and they put us on the first floor facing the pool, it sounded like people were in our room at all times. The way the front desk handled it was to put duct tape on the panels to close them off. It looked terrible and the noise level was high. They said the hotel was full and we could not be moved. My issue is we should never have been put in a damaged room in the first place. Also, I made reservations through Expedia 6 months in advance and paid 6 months in advance. I asked the front desk if I was given a substandard room because we went through Expedia. They insisted that was not the case. I will never stay at this hotel again, I do not recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel right on beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Had an amazing time in La Jolla, hotel was so clean, staff was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, perfect part of San Diego

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The hotel and staff are great, setting is beautiful and the location is perfect. i would stay there every year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is right by the beech and convenient.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff, except for night staff.
Cons: Cleanliness of other area such swimming pool and sauna.
Lobby access from my room was little far and hotel seems old but overall it was comfortable place to spend the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great location. Right in the beach.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Our room was very dated, but clean and spacious. The hotel was very family friendly and hotel staff was accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
my experience at this hotel was under adequate. when i go to a hotel i expect management to care what I'm trying to explain to them. i expect the maids to understand and to be able to communicate with me in English. i feel that when i leave my room and then come back again i dont expect or appreciate that my balcony door was left wide open. i also, think its not that hard to tell management for them to tell the maids to pick up my dirty bowls and glasses and leave them for the next couple of days. management should not have told me that some maids will get that and others wont. thats unacceptable, it should be well get that for you right away sir. further more, when i enter my room i dont expect to be able to hear my neighbors from both walls and i shouldnt be able to hear the people outside as well. once you close the balcony door, i should hear silence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Great location with beach access

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The beach and quick access to restaurants and shops. Easy to get to downtown San Diego or surrounding area
Cons: Older resort with some cosmetic issues but it was clean.
Beautiful beach hotel with great ammenities. The kids loved the pool and hot tub. They also loved the daily events they put on for kids such as rootbeer float night and movie night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

La Jolla weekender

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: location, atmosphere, amenities
Cons: in room mini fridge was missing door rack
Location: on the beach, walking distance to shops, restaurants, Torry Pines golf, public park
In town to attend La Jolla Playhouse Escape To Margaritaville Play (FANTASTIC). Hotel shuttle took us to the playhouse. Hotel was great, room clean and bed comfortable. The restaurant breakfast was very good and beach front room worth the extra $$ to sit on the balcony and watch the ocean with a cocktail. Took advantage of beach chairs & towel service daily, even rented a beach grill to put together a late lunch. Wife and I are already planning our return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great friendly staff, beautiful view of the ocean, close to San Diego, had a great time!!!