Ratings based on 1,105 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

In the heart of La Jolla

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Overall nice hotel great location. However the ac unit was loud and kept the kids up at night. Couldn't quite get the right temperature didn't work well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Right in the beach.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
We loved our stay! The hotel was immaculate. Right in the beach. Shopping, restaurants, coves right in walking distance. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The hotels history just added to its charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - we love that you loved your stay! Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lajolla,paradise!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Very nice. Close to everything, beautiful location and great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Excellent location if you don't have a car. Stunning views from the hotel. Hope I visit again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Efren R., Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vintage hotel with ocean views

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful grounds and very convenient location
Great stay at La Valencia. The hotel is very centrally located steps away from the coast and shops and restaurants of downtown La Jolla. The building is beautiful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The pool area is also quiet and pretty. Overall a great option in La Jolla!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Superb

Posted May 28, 2017
Great location, great view and great food. Very enjoy my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Valuable hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
The hotel is not super big but right in the center of little Italy. Very easy to access everything. Restaurant, breakfast(behind lobby!!), ATM, trolley station, 20mins walk to seaport village, etc.. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
HI , Thank you for the 5 Stars but I believe you mean this wonderful review to another hotel? We are in the heart of La Jolla and within walking distance to a many great attractions, but not Seaport Village. Come stay at La Valencia!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Left a lot to be desired...

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel has two faces, a very beautiful superficial appearance however the rooms are quite small and the bathrooms even smaller. If you are over 6' tall get ready to duck while taking a shower and if you are on the hefty side you might need a shoehorn to get on and off the toilet...very tight space. Restaurant food was no better than a Vegas buffet. The iron and ironing board were subpar at best for a hotel of that stature. The staff, on the other hand were EXCELLENT. Courteous and very helpful, the bright spot of the hotel and probably why it stays in business. Lots of potential, but punches well below its weight.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so sorry that you left completely happy, so glad that our staff are described as excellent. Your feedback is always appreciated, and I hope that your next stay will have you selecting a room type that will meet all of your needs as we do have a Vintage room which is our smallest room, to larger Classic Rooms to Villas and Suites. We publish all of our room sizes and square footage and photos - so each guest can select the best fit. I will pass along all of your comments, as we grow and learn from each one - thank you. I hope that we can welcome you back for a true La V experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Carpet smells like urine :(

Posted May 21, 2017
Nice location, restaurants in hotel were not very good. Beds were hard. Worst of all as soon as you get off elevator on 2nd floor you are hit with a horrible urine odor that continues into rooms. Carpet is as old as hotel I'm guessing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I understand that you were dissatisfied with carpets, which have been changed out in the last 5 years. I hope you shared this information with our front office so we could investigate the challenge, this is an unusual report - not our standard. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback,we are working internally to investigate with our housekeeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel close to beach, dining and stores.

Posted May 7, 2017
Great pool area and staff was very accommodating. Close to everything to do in town and a short drive to San Diego. Would absolutely stay here again. Miss the place already. Stayed May 2017.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,