Ratings based on 1,090 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Left a lot to be desired...

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel has two faces, a very beautiful superficial appearance however the rooms are quite small and the bathrooms even smaller. If you are over 6' tall get ready to duck while taking a shower and if you are on the hefty side you might need a shoehorn to get on and off the toilet...very tight space. Restaurant food was no better than a Vegas buffet. The iron and ironing board were subpar at best for a hotel of that stature. The staff, on the other hand were EXCELLENT. Courteous and very helpful, the bright spot of the hotel and probably why it stays in business. Lots of potential, but punches well below its weight.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so sorry that you left completely happy, so glad that our staff are described as excellent. Your feedback is always appreciated, and I hope that your next stay will have you selecting a room type that will meet all of your needs as we do have a Vintage room which is our smallest room, to larger Classic Rooms to Villas and Suites. We publish all of our room sizes and square footage and photos - so each guest can select the best fit. I will pass along all of your comments, as we grow and learn from each one - thank you. I hope that we can welcome you back for a true La V experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Carpet smells like urine :(

Posted May 21, 2017
Nice location, restaurants in hotel were not very good. Beds were hard. Worst of all as soon as you get off elevator on 2nd floor you are hit with a horrible urine odor that continues into rooms. Carpet is as old as hotel I'm guessing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel close to beach, dining and stores.

Posted May 7, 2017
Great pool area and staff was very accommodating. Close to everything to do in town and a short drive to San Diego. Would absolutely stay here again. Miss the place already. Stayed May 2017.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for sharing your great review. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 3, 2017
We booked a three day weekend and were unaware they had a 4:00pm check in deadline. They gave our room away and couldn't accommodate us because the hotel was full. They also charged us one night even though we didnt get a room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear I am very sorry to hear that you didn't recieve the accommodations, all of our confirmation letters and reservations list the 4pm check in, but rooms would only be released if a guest did not show up or call to alert us they were not checking in until late night. Sadly, if a guest doesn't call and checks in after midnight they could be considered a cancellation. I would like to understand more of your experience, so that I can fiind out a bit more of your check in process. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you, Hotel Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Laure, NJ

Zen Ocean View Brilliant

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Next to the Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento Italy this hotel is the best in which I have ever stayed. Amazing ocean view and great location for walks to dinner and breakfast (might I suggest Brockton Villa and George's). Staff incredibly friendly and attentive - a sure sign of great management. Pool area clean, wonderful, zen ...brilliant. Can't say enough good things. Third floor ocean suite with sitting room absolutely fit the bill. Me and kids felt 100% happy and right at home. Can't wait to return. Thank you La Valencia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - truly I love the title, we all find a sense of peace and tranquility when we gaze out at the beautiful ocean views. It never wears out, always stops you in your tracks - that plus the extraordinary sunsets that happen daily! Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Gorgeous hotel. Everything was perfect.Have loved this hotel since I was a student at UCSD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the Stars - we love 5! I am so glad that you enjoyed y our stay - we are great lovers of UCSD as well, so we have a lot in common. Visit again soon, and thank you! Rita ~Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Very good location. Close to everything. Its just the room looks a little outdated and our bathroom smelled really bad. Then later on we figured out that the smell is from shower certain. Its not worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Ray, Thank you for your feedback and your 4 Stars - I have alerted our front office and housekeeping of your feedback - please know that we are constantly caring for the property and our guests. Being so coastal and close to the ocean, we constantly refresh the rooms and amenities - my apology if during your stay your room did not seem fresh. I hope that you shared this with our team to address on property? I will of course as well - we need constant feedback to be the Best. I hope that you do return for a second visit, and let us wow you. Best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel restaurant

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel staff were terrific! The location and the views were fantastic. The rooms could use some extra seating. We were very disappointed in the hotel restaurant. We had dinner one evening and the food was terrible. My wife had the seafood special, the portions were small and inedible. I had a mystery pasta that was not very appetizing. We sat at the front outside patio our last night. My wife ordered a drink that she had to return, it was undrinkable. I ordered a coffee that was cold when I got it. We sat next to a couple at the pool one day, they ordered a hamburger but didn't eat it because it was cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 4 starsand comments on staff and views - truly we work hard to exceed expectations. I see the restaurant experience as an extraordinary step from what our standard is and I have share the exact details with our Food & Beverage Director and Chef, as well as Restaurant Managers. Your comments and experience are not our norm and completely unacceptable - I do so hope that we can lure you back to La V and allow us to wow you with a new experience, a new memory of our culinary expertise. Please do ask for me, I would love to meet you in person and thank you for posting this review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I dont prefer to recommend this hotel. If you want to stay with unclean room and bad service, choose it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I understand that you were dissatisfied- I wish that our Front Office had been alerted so that we could have fixed immediately, as your review is not our standard experience.. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff! Great location! Look forward t going back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Rita ~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 Stars! We look forward to your return as well - beautiful La Valencia is first and foremost service and hospitality - but of course our location perched above the Pacific Ocean is an amazing plus to provide. Thank you again, your review is very much appreciated and I will share with our staff! See you soon,