Ratings based on 1,056 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: dog friendly, view of ocean
Cons: updated bathrooms, did not have hot water on the last day
great location for food and fun. close to highway and hotel. great staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Use only if you plan to mainly be out of your room

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location courtyard office staff
Cons: move the palm tree blocking the ocean view in room 307 Fix the rotten egg smell that kept seeping into the room fix doors so they open better
Location: across street from beach tons of bars within walking restaurants near by Incredible breakfast cafe near by live music at several bars at night
Over all experience. The room was TINY! Queen bed. Ocean view. The view was half blocked by a huge palm tree so you can't see much but the pier and a tiny bit of water in our room. There was a fridge but NO FREEZER. There is a TV with maybe 22 channels. NO DVD player. The bed is decent but we both woke up each morning sore. Its very firm. The shower is awesome. Unless your next door neighbor is or just took a shower. Then you can get either scalding hot water or ice cold. Nice otherwise. There are no other amenities like a work out room, breakfast or pool. There's an ice maker I believe. But basically when you go outside you are in an open air court yard which was pretty beautiful. Glass on the end so you can sit and look at the ocean without being hit by the wind. Across the street from the beach so that was awesome. No elevators here that I saw but there are three floors up stairs. AC didn't work well and kept filling our room with a horrid fart smell half the time. Don't know what caused it. Noise wise, it is RIGHT on the street. So if your bathroom window or sliding door is cracked you hear every conversation. (we were on the top floor) If you shut those it's decently quiet. The noise through the walls wasn't too bad except for the crazy screaming bachelorette party next door. The upside, because it is on the street, you can walk down and visit all the shops and food without having to drive. So I suggest this place only if you plan on being mostly out of the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Perfect location at the beach w/eateries and shops

Posted May 14, 2017
The staff greeted us warmly and tended to our wishes. The room was comfortable and clean. The outdoor seating with an ocean view was a wonderful place to relax with a coffee or beer. The location right at the beach with shops and the best restaurants and bars only steps away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was given the wrong room

Posted May 8, 2017
I was given the wrong room , I paid for a nicer room than I got, 3rd floor with no view when I paid for a view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Posted May 4, 2017
It was comfortable and love how close to the beach it was.. My toilet did back up and there was water all over the room and the lobby was locked up so i had to fix the toilet and clean up the water, Also the last night i was there someone struck my rental cars doors with their doors and left pretty large dents. Keeping someone in the office and monitoring facilities a bit better would be something i would recommend. Otherwise our stay was quite comfortable the rooms were well cleaned and staff at the front desk were extremely pleasant when they were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, attentive staff, and clean rooms.

Posted May 4, 2017
Courtyard is peaceful and a great place to hang while watching the surf. Hotel is right across the road from the beach and pier and in the heart of everything. They do a great job of making sure the facilities are just used by the guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Evanston, Il

nice hotel on the beach

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Staff were terrific. Great courtyard. Very reasonably priced considering you are right on the beach.
Cons: Could use paint on outdoor door frames due to salt water corrosion.
Location: Quick access to highways. 5 min to Mission Beach (Sea World). 15 minutes from downtown (Balboa Park).and Seaport Village; Coronado Island.
Great area. Ocean Beach is a very laid back beach community. Hotel has a beautiful courtyard. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Hotel Very Close to Beach

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The hotel location was great...close to beach and to restaurants/shops. The courtyard was nice...and we really enjoyed the patio. Excellent service.
Cons: The pillows were somewhat more firm than I like, but that was very minor.
Location: There were many restaurants and shops nearby. And walking to the pier for lunch at the Cafe is a must!
Our stay at Ocean Beach Hotel was fantastic. The hotel was in walking distance to many, many shops and restaurants. And the beach was right across the street. We felt like were were in the middle of the action! Room was somewhat small, but comfortable enough. That the housekeeping staff kept it very clean. We very much enjoyed the patio area, but might get a balcony next time for a better ocean view. The front desk staff was friendly and very responsive to our questions and requests. The webcam was a nice touch as it allowed our friends back home to see us at certain times! We had a great time during our stay and would totally stay at Ocean Beach Hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Shout out to Shallyn!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Our stay at OB Hotel was perfect. Shallyn was super friendly at check-in and while they couldn't accommodate our request for third floor right away she offered to move us after the first night when 302 became available. OB Hotel is all about location and room 302 is the best of the best. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony all times of the day to watch the waves, the surfers and the sunsets. And then there's the people... Such a colorful group that was always present at the beach. But never did we feel uncomfortable or threatened. We loved the dog friendly neighborhood even though we had to leave our own puppers back at home. It was nice to see so many well behaved pets and parents. Lots of great restaurants and taprooms within walking distance. And make sure to check out the OB Farmer's Market on Wednesday. The hotel is not new but has been recently updated, and was very comfortable and clean. Because there is no central air conditioning the room would get stuffy when we were out but opening the balcony door for a few minutes quickly cooled and freshened the room. We have ZERO complaints about OB Hotel and can't wait to return! Jillian & Greg
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great and Not So Great

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great location. Free,easy parking. Initial reaction was 2/10. Steps, hallways, and outside look run down. Courtyard was a nice touch. Room had frig, great hot shower, mediocre bed, basic amenities, noisy doors, easy to hear neighbors and barking dogs staying. Location was great for walking to restaurants and beach. Lots of homeless but we were never bothered by them. Mediocre beach. Easy to drive to nearby attractions.