Ratings based on 1,045 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel close to beach

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: a little sitting area. better parking
Location: location great plenty to do within walking distance
room was not as it appeared in web site.one room meant one room with bed. it was clean and for price points not too bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
I really wish we would have had a larger room available for you. Please let us know during your next stay about taking a larger room if available. Sometimes, this is a real possibility. And, thank you for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Foley Alabama

Horrible

Posted May 8, 2017
Was charged to my credit card when I reserved-upon arrival they had nothing on file 1191.52 to be exact. But refused to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
I'm terribly sorry for the error. But, I do hope it was corrected very fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mex

Small hotel close to the beach

Posted May 4, 2017
The breakfast was horrible, it was just OJ and a bun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
We did take pictures of our simple breakfast, because we do not want anyone to believe it is more than we advertise. I am sorry you were not happy with the fresh pastries though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Wonderful hotel right near the beach.

Posted May 2, 2017
This was a clean and comfortable hotel just a block away from the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I hope you will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 1, 2017
I liked the hotel bedroom and very friendly staff, but didn't like the hotel facilities ad condition, outside it was dirty, had no parking spots and no elevator to reach the second floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
I appreciate your comments, and will look at everything you commented about. We will always be happy to carry all of your luggage to and from your room. And, parking is scarce in the evening, but we do offer additional parking a half of a block away. I hope you will come back and stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable

Posted May 1, 2017
Bed was like a rock and the towel hanger fell and smashed my toe. Hotel staff accused me of breaking it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
I do apologize for the towel holder falling and hitting your toe. I was here when you came to the front desk, and maybe you did not understand what she said, but all she did was ask you if you needed medical attention. There was never any mention of charges or costs associated with the repair. We all know the holders can fall off, and we certainly did not intend to make you feel like it was your fault. I'm sorry for the miscommunication.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

A nice surprise

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: For the price, location and quality was great. 3rd floor rooms provided more "privacy" but luggage all has to be carried up.
Cons: Parking could be challenging during the busy season. Took awhile to get hot water in the shower.
We were not expecting a lot based on the reasonable price, but the location was excellent, easy walk to the boardwalk, and restaurants. The front desk staff could not have been more accommodating, very friendly and helpful. We were a mid week stay, so parking was not an issue, although it would be a challenge during busy times as it is first come first serve. The room was clean, updated bathroom, and we did not find the street noise to be overly intrusive. We sat out on the 3rd floor upper deck, and enjoyed the sunset, with a wee view of the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comments! Yes, during peak seasons, the parking can and is a bit challenging at times. However, we do have overflow parking located a half of a block away. I hope we will see you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but....

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The location and it had conditioner
Cons: Better breakfast and don't advertise free wifi if it is not available.
Location: Beach walk, view sunset, lots of restaurants, ride bikes.
This IS a great location for a quick walk to the beach. However two of the filters that we put in our search were not quite accurate. There was no free wifi as advertised. The free breakfast consisted of some anemic coffee and pastries. Not a healthy option to be found. The front desk staff was mixed. Randy was helpful but the woman at that he desk was as unfriendly as possible. The rooms are small but nicely decorated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and for your helpful comments. I do apologize for the service you received from one of my guest service agents, and will talk with her about your check in. We working on free WiFi, but for now, only offer a paid service. The simple continental is only juice, fresh pastries, coffee, and a selection of teas. I am happy that you did like your room, and hope you will come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great Value within a block of the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: price, location, cleanliness, staff, king sized bed, bathroom design
Cons: Mini fridge, slightly softer bed, better AC unit
Location: bars, clubs, restaurants, shops and the beach!
I have stayed at a few different hotels in the Pacific Beach and Mission Beach area, but this was my first visit to PB Surf Beachside Inn. I was extremely happy with the price, location, cleanliness, and staff. The bed was king sized, bathroom was very nicely done, and the lighting was sufficient throughout the hotel room. Also, there was plenty of drawer space to store clothing outside of the suitcase. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk, and close enough to hear the ocean waves cracking with the windows open. I was not entirely happy with the room size, there was little to do but sleep or get ready within the room as there was no area to lounge outside of the bed, but that likely goes with the price. The bed was a little on the stiff side, however, I did sleep well. The AC/Fan unit would not be of much use on hotter days. Lastly, there was no mini fridge to store any food, so remember to bring a cooler if you wish to store any food items. Overall, I would consider staying in the future for the right price, however my significant other prefers more amenities and may not give the opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Please just let us know about the lack of a refrigerator the next time. We will be very happy to get you one. Also, we are currently working towards replacing the few that have topped working. One last thing, we also have larger rooms, and hopefully will be able to accommodate you and your significant other with one of those.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great experience overall!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great value and friendly staff. Will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you! We look forward to your next visit!