Ratings based on 2,465 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, AZ

Great location in the center of everything!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location, private beach, friendly hotel staff
Cons: The beds
This hotel was better than expected base on reviews that I read. I knew it was on the beach and was located in the center of everything, but the decor of the room was much nicer than I expected. I loved the private beach and the bungalow-type rooms. From here, we drove to Sunset Cliffs, Mission Beach, La Jolla, the Gaslamp Quarter and Old Town San Diego. My room was near Ingraham St., and I could hear the traffic from outside of my room, but once inside it was not noticeable. The beds are decent; they would be the only thing I would improve. Not horrible, but not the most comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nice location! Would be nice if it had an ice cream shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, BC

Private family friendly hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2017
The rooms have been updated as best as possible due to the age of the structure. It was a private oasis surrounded by beach and ocean. The grounds were lush and immaculate. With the numerous amenities, private grounds and central location (1 mile to Sea World) this resort was an A+. Our kids didn't want to leave and asked when we would be going back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Terrible Customer Service Ruins it all

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The customer service willing to work with a frustrated customer.
The location is amazing, and the rooms are nice, but all of that was negated because the customer service here is terrible. They do not respond to emails or phone calls. My car was damaged while on the parked on the property. They told me that it was not their fault or problem, and are sticking to the warning on the card. They made no attempt to resolve the issue, and management never responded back. Will never come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Perfect place for a get-together and spending time with your loved ones. Lots of things to do within the resort itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place! Good service! Just noisy at times

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Nice place! Lots of great amenities . Good food! Nice pool area! Staff was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Won't stay again

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The room itself was kind of outdated. The bathroom didn't feel very clean. Front desk staff wasn't super friendly or very informative. The fees are outrageous. They were nice enough to take the $38/day for parking to $20/day but only because we were staying for a week. We weren't informed about the resort fee until checkout. We were told it covered all amenities but we only used the pool twice. So pretty much we paid an extra $250 to swim twice and the extra $140 for parking on top of our stay. Staff at the barefoot restaurant was great but every other staff member we came across wasn't very friendly. The staff driving around on golf carts sometimes speed and it was rare to see one driving and NOT texting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
MK, thank you for sharing your feedback and we're disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your visit. In regards to the parking and resort fee, we seek to be completely transparent about them as we list them on the website, at time of booking and in each confirmation letter. Unfortunately, we can’t control how they are displayed on third party booking websites.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

False Paradise !

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: invite pest control and remove spiders and other insects.
Hi Recently visited Paradise Island Hotel with my Family to celebrate my sons 12th birthday. Based on hotels info we found on Expedia it was a perfect place to spend a day and have a nice and cozy family birthday dinner. Well it turned to be completely opposite of what we saw online. I paid almost 250 dollars online and i found that i have to pay another $38 dollar for my parking and $32.00 dollars " Passport to Paradise" after i arrived, which turned my 250 dollar/night booking bill to $320.00 / night. They have " TIDAL " restaurant which is also rated 4 stars, well i will try be extremely honest with my feedback. Skyline prices, poor service ( waited 1 hour and 14 minutes to get my order ), also i told their manager that it is my sons birthday and it will be nice if we could have something even a little cupcake with a candle just to make him feel special today, they said YES, but never happened !. After we came back to our room, we found spiders climbing all over the wall. Kids got scared and did not sleep well. So overall experience with ' Paradise Point is very bad, will never ever use them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too old a facility Need a facelift and upgrading.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Everything's too old in the 70's?
Cons: Facelift and upgrade everything.
Staff unfriendly and disappointing when asked about checking out early. Warning me that I have to pay extra one night if cancel early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by CS, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your recent visit, and we're disappointed to read about your experience. We're happy to share that we're currently undergoing a guest room renovation, and we're following up with our team to ensure future visits are enhanced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Lanai Bayside walk out to the beach

Posted Jun 9, 2017
This place has a little something for everyone - basketball, mini golf, spa, computer to print boarding passes, restaurants on site, scavenger hunt, family bike and boat rentals and so much more. I love that they had a sugarfree option for coffee at the coffee bar and the pools weren't crowded. Chris and Kyle were great bellmen! The only downfall is the restaurants are all very expensive - $100 for a family of 4 for breakfast. The pizza was reasonably priced. We took an Uber to Mission Beach and ate at Hodad's (which was amazing and less expensive) All in all, we'd definitely come back.