Ratings based on 2,338 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg Manitoba

Great Location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Peaceful and quiet
Cons: Furniture a little dated!
Location: Lots of great restaurants and loved how close to the Airport it was!
The Hotel is in a great location...Only Minutes from the Airport and they will Pick you Up!Close to Little Italy and plenty of restaurants..You can see the Beach from the general area and its pretty quiet which we like!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Terrible customer service-couldn't wait to leave.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was dismal enough that we chose to skip it, but the view from the dining room is lovely.
Cons: Customer service! Also, air conditioning, lighting, interior painting, general repairs to make hotel look less dark, dirty and dingy.
Location: The location in Little Italy was terrific. The Farmer's Market on Saturday morning was great as well. Lots of restaurants.
We were so disappointed with our stay at Porto Vista in San Diego. The room was hot and dark. The A/C didn't work. The interior of the hotel resembles a parking garage and is dirty. Our door was very difficult to open. The staff was either impartial or really rude and unfriendly. We were awoken both Friday and Saturday night with loud, thumping music. When we tried to communicate with the manager regarding our numerous concerns (via response to their texts asking how things were going and in person), he chose not to respond to us. At check out, the manager and the clerk helping us conferred over our concerns in whispered Spanish, and then chose once again to ignore our concerns. We couldn't wait to leave and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Such a disappointment in an otherwise terrific weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small Room with Garage View

Posted May 16, 2017
Great location for exploring Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, and the Bay. We took a LIft to Children's Pool but a bus route is available. The shuttle from the airport is hourly, but it runs continuously (as needed). The room left a little to be desired. The bathroom was very small. The vent in our room did not work. This is a MOTEL room with exterior door. There is a lobby entrance, but the hall was open to the exterior and a parking garage. The parties held on the 5th Floor were not loud nor were they late at night. But, the room was loud due to the exterior door. For the cost, I might recommend this hotel, bu tthere would be the caveat of knowing what they were getting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alhambra, CA

Good stay

Posted May 15, 2017
Staff was extremely nice. Rooms and balthroom needed to be cleaned a little better. Overall it was a comfortable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego California

Very nice hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
It was the best say, highly recommended it. Great facility look forward to staying there again. Mesa Provera comfortable spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Overall decent

Posted May 3, 2017
The hotel itself was good, checking in was fast, got our room in great condition, bed was comfortable. Bed had three pillows instead of the usual four but can't complain. Our reservation said we had a room with view but the view we got was the backside which consisted of the freeway and a nice little park. Not bad didn't really care for it, we did however have a little balcony. We stayed on the 4th floor. We went to the Glass Door for dinner, when we got there they told us we can sit anywhere we liked. So we found some seats facing the ocean, which was nice. It was cool outside so they had the heaters on which was nice. View was great. The service however was extremely slow. We sat there for about 15 minutes with no help or service until I went to the bartender and said something. Then they promptly attended to us. There was only a total of 3 people running the whole place which wasn't bad but they seemed to forget everyone else that was outside. The food was ok, nothing great, we got the turkey and ham panini with fries. Nothing special. The dinner menu is very small and nothing really seemed appetizing except the paninis. Room was quiet once we got back at night, no complaints there, bed was pretty comfortable. Breakfast was provided in our package so we went, overall not too bad, the basics of eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast, and juices and also some muffins. They also had the kitchen open if you wanted to order custom food. Checkout process was great, and fast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but hotel needs to he updated

Posted May 2, 2017
From the outside the hotel looks very modern and even the lobby gives you that feel as well. Once you step off the elevator you are outside and it's immediately a motel 6 vibe. The pictures of the room makes it seem 3 star worthy and the bedding, headboard, and tv area are as pictured. However the carpet could use a serious update. The bathroom needs a complete over haul. The linoleum was old and there was a different type in between the toilet area and the sink. The tub had a slow drain and after reporting this they claimed to have fixed it which it was a lie. The bed was comfy. We noticed they did not change the sheets, but instead made the bed. We left trash from food we had eaten in bags and they didn't remove it proactively. The location in little Italy was awesome we were able to walk to eat, to the mall, etc. We will not be staying in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by PVH Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We deeply regret that your expectations were not exceeded. Housekeeping management will definitely hear your feedback and a prompt follow up will occur. We are constantly working on improving our property to better future guest stay and we hope you'll give us another try to show you what your initial experience should have been. Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
It was a very nice location and prices per room. The staff was very pleasant and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by PVH Management , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very old mattress and carpet. Horrible breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by PVH Management , Hotel Management
Dear Cassia, We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not exceeded. We will look into your reservation to improve your accommodation. Thank you for choosing the Porto Vista Hotel and we'll be taking your feedback to enhance future stays. Best,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

In great location but we were very disappointed

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We reserved a room with a view of the bay, however; it was just like a pick a boo view so we upgraded to a suite and the view was pretty nice. The only problem with that is that no one tod is there was some construction going on right below us. We couldn't enjoy the balcony/view because it was super loud, even with the doors closed!. The other thing is that we were on vacation so we didn't want to worry about waking up early or anything like that. Well, that didn't happened. Right before 6:00am the construction workers were already working and been soooo loud!! Also, we were right below the restaurant and we could hear people/servers/staff been so loud after hours when we were already asleep. So we could hardly rest on our vacation. The worst thing is when we checked out we told Carlos? about our experience and the only thing he said was "I'm sorry to hear about that" I mean, really?!! We paid extra for the view/ comfort!!! The hotel is in a great location, but we probably won't be staying there again.