Ratings based on 1,906 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Staff

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and attention of the staff, and cleanliness and convenience of the grounds and amenities.
Cons: More space in rooms. Not easy to improve, but they are extremely tight quarters. Also water temperature was super hot! Couldn't get it warm.
Location: Centrally located, close to downtown shopping, nightlife, & dining. Airport is close by, and entrance/exit to the freeway are around the corner.
The check-in experience was great! The staff member was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was clean and kept up, with various amenities. The only draw back was that the room was tiny. A bit cramped and hard to move around in, and store luggage. Also the water temperature was super hot in the shower and the sink. The sink water wouldn't get cold, and the shower was either really hot or cold, couldn't get it warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the size

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better space for rooms as well a better handle of loud guests.
Location: Littly Italy
I guess if your only looking for a place to sleep while exploring I'd recommend this place. The comp breakfast was decent, but I would of liked more options. The showers weren't great, dirty shower drain as well as very low pressure. Friday night it was really loud with people on the lower level, and Saturday there was an annoying drunk or drunks roaming the halls as well as pounding. But location wise very close to the beach, little Italy and very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hote close to downtown

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The room we stayed in was on the bottom floor so I'm not sure if all rooms experienced this, but there was no shower ventilation in the bathroom causing the room to be constantly muggy, the towel rod fell from just one tap of an elbow, and the floor was very dirty. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful and overall the stay was comfortable except for the hotel room cleanliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Good central location to the zoo, downtown, Balboa Park, Little Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was great

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Close to what we wanted to do.
Staff was very nice, breakfast was great. No parking was a real downer though. Overall, was a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice SD hotel good location.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Overall our stay was nice. Staff was polite and attentive, rooms were small but clean, continental breakfast was decent. Best thing about our stay was the location, we were within a mile from downtown area. We walked to our dinner that night and was able to roam the streets of SD. Worse thing was that there was no designated free parking. It was first come first serve street parking, and across the way was a pay lot. We were lucky enough to find street parking but our stay was pretty short so we didn't need to worry about parking often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tokyo

Nice hotel with friendly staffs

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Overall nice hotel, located near downtown and close to tourist's attractions. We stayed at a room with queen size bed, the room had microwave and small frige. There was minor issue with the iron (we changed it like... 4times?), but overall clearn and nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa

Comfortable within walking distance of gaslamp

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Priced a bit high for small room and in direct flight path of airport. However, flight hours seemed to be within normal hours. Shower temperature was luke warm. No hot option. No hotel parking. However, public parking across the street is an option with additional fee to the city. Complimentary breakfast was good!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The staff was nice, but parking is really hard to find. Most of the parking around you have to pay for it. The room was really same but was ok for the one night I stayed. For the price I wouldn't go there again. You also could hear the airplanes flying by, however that I knew would happen sense the airport is near by. Over all my little get away was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Nice hotel with friends staff, near Balboa park & the zoo