Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder Colorado

Walking distance to beach, older hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach. Open the window and smell the beach air. Can't quite hear the ocean waves crashing.
Cons: Keep doing the upgrades. Make the parking spots slightly wider and people can park on 101 if need be. Use Expedia to get great prices.
Location: Leucadia and the beach are within walking distance for a 57 year old. Legoland is ten minutes away. La Costa Golf Club is ten minutes away.
I have stayed here seven nights over the last two weeks of business trips. They are friendly at the desk. You stay here to enjoy the feel of Leucadia, and to be near the beach. The staff is great, the rooms are large. There is a table to work at if you are on business. Good frig and microwave. Beds are comfortable. They are upgrading room interiors on an individual basis, so some older and some newer. Parking is a bit tight, but not terrible if you have an intermediate or smaller car. No pool, but the ocean is a ten minute walk away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Bed was horrible, the bathroom smelt like a urinal and the A/C unit didn't work properly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by ms, Hotel Management
thanks for your review and we will share this review with our staff as we believe in customer service as our main priority and will look forward to live up to your expectations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to beach, restaurant and market
Cons: Water pressure in shower was very weak. Parking lot is small, but I ended up walking a lot instead anyway.
Location: Fish 101 right next door - highly recommend trying their fish tacos! Just a half mile walk to the Grandview Beach - not many people.
Great hotel for the price. Small refrigerator, microwave in room. I got a great room in the corner. I came for the beach and was happy to find it was close enough to walk. The surrounding homes were beautiful, so it was very pleasant to walk around the area. I had a great time. Exactly what I needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We hope to see you again during your next visit to Encinitas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Everything was very nice thank u i will stay there again if needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach, comfortable beds.
Cons: Updated showers, and sound proofing , walls are thin could hear the other guests speaking , sound proofing .
Location: Beaches , food, shopping, nightlife.
I if your just looking for a place close to the beach that is better than motel 6, thus is your place. It's super close to all the shops and beaches , the staff was helpful , the rooms are clean and the beds were very comfortable . Every now and then it can get a little noisy but overall we enjoyed our stay. I think the room should could use some sound reinforcement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More of a two star motel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Expedia ratings are falling year over year. This is more like a two star hotel. There is no elevator. Stair case is visibly damaged. Concrete is broken at multiple spots. Very noisy. You can hear noises might long. Inside room is clean. Beds are Not comfortable .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We are currently working on renovations. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Hotel needs some updating. It's clean but run down
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
We are currently working on renovations. Thank you for the review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Location, clean, great price for location, great air condition, comfortable beds - not the Marriott, but definitely comfortable, great lighting.
Cons: The water pressure coming from the shower. We removed the shower head to make our showering experience better.
We stayed at this hotel for three nights and will stay again some day. We were not sure what to expect when we first arrived because of the location, right on the PCH, right next to the railroad tracks and let's face it, we hadn't stayed in a "motel" in a very long time. We were thoroughly surprised. Neither the traffic, car or train, were a problem and while there was no free breakfast, our stay was perfect. Plenty of places nearby to eat and of course the smell and feel of the ocean air! Ok, we did have noisy neighbors one night but that was not the fault of the motel! Thumbs up to the manager of the property!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encinitas

AVERAGE facility, nothing special

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It was a roof over my head & a bed.THAT'S about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by CW, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Not a Problem

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fine. A/C was not blowing too strong (122); however, it was not bad. Beds were comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017
Thank you for the review.