Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ky

Great place to stay!

Posted May 24, 2017
I highly recommend Scripps Inn! Awesome views, across the street from ocean, close to seals and sea lions....awesome staff, roomy, we stayed 2 nights and I have no complaints!! I hope I get to come back, I would definitely stay here again and recommend to all my friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Beautiful, right on the ocean, centrally located, great staff and service... loved everything about this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great Boutique Hotel, Great View, Great Location

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: View, staff, room, breakfast, short walk to everything, bathroom was beautiful, room was big and comfortable.
Cons: Wifi connection (I don't have unlimited data, so it's important that I can connect to wifi)
Location: Antiques, cute boutiques, fancy art galleries, coffee shops, very nice grocery store about 10 minute walk away.
My mom and I stayed here for three nights. I booked a room on a whim because I was running out of time, and everything else was so expensive, other than hotels that were far away from everything. We loved the room - it was so clean. Loved that we got a king and a sofa bed - they even have a little breakfast nook/table. We had a great view - first floor room with a porch that walks out to the small parking lot - then OCEAN! Nothing across the street, so there is nothing in your way of the view. La Jolla is a bit of a drive (20 min+), or bus ride away (1hr+) from downtown, Ocean Beach, Old Town, etc. BUT SO WORTH IT. I was SO HAPPY to not be staying downtown San Diego. La Jolla is clean, safe, really really quiet, and overall just beautiful (looks like a town on the Mediterranean). The staff was really nice, breakfast was cute - only complaint I have is that the wifi is not very strong, but it still works (if you stay on the office-side of the building, you'd be fine). Scripps Inn is just a short walk away from great restaurants, shops, and a great city park (very clean and kid-friendly) on the ocean. You can even see the sea lions from right across the street. Stay here if you're having a hard time deciding on a place to stay. I booked this place last-minute, and I'm so glad that I did. My trip was for a surprise Mother's Day vacation, and my mom was tickled pink with Scripps Inn. The quaintness and great location made it such a special trip. Great job, Scripps Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but limited hours

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The location was great and the views were fantastic. However, the hotel office hours are quite limited. You really need to check in before 6PM or the office will be closed. We just made it by 5:45PM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great view, nice location.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Staff exceptionally nice and accommodating. The location is walking distance from many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

Small inn with great beach access and view.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Liked the closeness to the beach. Rooms are clean with a good view. Housekeeping services were great. They thoroughly cleaned our room everyday.
Cons: -bathroom needs air vent -more breakfast choices (cereal or toast) would have been nice -need more beach chairs as they were checked out everyday
Location: Beach is across the street. Parking was available for free. It is close to and within walking distance to LaJolla shopping.
We arrived after lobby was closed. We called ahead to get instructions to check into our room. If we had not done this we would not have been able to get into our room. The facility was clean with beach access across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We loved this hotel. Great location with wonderful room. When we come back to the San Diego area, this will be our go to lodging. The ONLY negative which isn't even horrible is the lack of power outlets in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock, Colorado

Beautiful views & room, wonderful staff, romantic

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Bryce Nelson was exceptional, all staff we met were helpful and friendly, breakfast was perfect, room was clean and nicely beach themed, views from room were beautiful, right across from beach (no hotels on beach and no buildings between hotel and beach), having windows open to sleep with cool ocean breezes + soft sounds of the surf = wonderful, clean and well kept, all needed amenities, dream vacation ~ wish it was longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Close to beach; disappointing for price.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Room was attractive, large, clean, and comfortable. However, we could not enjoy our "partial ocean view" because we had to keep the shades closed for privacy as there was lots of traffic outside all our windows. Also, lots of noise from the room upstairs. Continental breakfast was OK but no breakfast room. No real cream for coffee. Did not seem worth the premium price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

A too brief respite

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Flying in and out of San Diego, we visited along the coastline from SD to Newport Beach but wanted to spend our last night in LaJolla. Got a great price Scripps in for the four of us. We got there after the two hour check-in window and had trouble opening the dropbox then finding our room in the dark but once in, we enjoyed our stay. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. The hot shower was wonderful. We woke up to the sound of waves, clear sky and glimpses of the ocean from our first floor windows. Staff was nice and breakfast decent with plenty of good coffee. Location was ideal. Would love to return and stay longer.