Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N, Glendale CA

Little jewel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
This was one of the best findings and one of the best experiences we ever had. It was my cusins graduation and father's day weekend and maybe that also contributed to the fact....however, Scripps Inn was a great finding and im so glad i chose this place to stay for our weekend getaway. Location, staff, room cleanness and above all THE VEIW was incredible. I definitely recommend this cozy place and about 10 of us are going back again in October. LOVED IT!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Jolla, CA

BEWARE!I Robbed in room #1

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: LOCATION only, but would not recommend this hotel
Cons: A security camera on the premises... watching guests, workers, manager, staff Put a placard on each room- (clean room/privacy)
Scripps Inn location was nice but nothing special. The breakfast was awful. The orange juice was not 100%- (restaurant supply), by 9:30 AM the better pastries were already taken. We stayed 4 nights- unhealthy, No apples, oranges etc. They pride "breakfast is free" but it's added in the cost of the room. Who's kidding but them! I left personal items left in the room (3 massage gift certificates), navy cashmere sweater, gift in a bag, hairbrush, & a note on the table saying "I will be back at 11:00 AM." Upon arrival, #1 was "opened!" I had the right to get into that room until 12:00 PM, paid via Expedia. My friend came to pick me up at 11:15 & I planned to give her a "gift" that was in that bag.... everything was gone in that room! The staff said there wasn't "anything"in there except "trash." (staff have key cards to get into all the rooms.) This isn't a mystery. "What do you think happened?" The manager, Bryce said workers saw my husband packing & leaving at 7:30 AM He assumed I left too. Wrong! I had a flight later. I saw and left them when I was in that room before, leaving at 8:00 AM for coffee.Ironical it is, Bryce wasn't even at work, yet. Who would have ever thought a traveler needs to take video/pictures of the room. I also couldn't use the bathroom even though I had rented the room until 12:00 PM. The housekeepers had already cleaned my room, so the manager took the liberty to have me use the "dirty room" next door. Their unprofessional management doesn't prevail
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ky

Great place to stay!

Posted May 24, 2017
I highly recommend Scripps Inn! Awesome views, across the street from ocean, close to seals and sea lions....awesome staff, roomy, we stayed 2 nights and I have no complaints!! I hope I get to come back, I would definitely stay here again and recommend to all my friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Beautiful, right on the ocean, centrally located, great staff and service... loved everything about this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great Boutique Hotel, Great View, Great Location

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: View, staff, room, breakfast, short walk to everything, bathroom was beautiful, room was big and comfortable.
Cons: Wifi connection (I don't have unlimited data, so it's important that I can connect to wifi)
Location: Antiques, cute boutiques, fancy art galleries, coffee shops, very nice grocery store about 10 minute walk away.
My mom and I stayed here for three nights. I booked a room on a whim because I was running out of time, and everything else was so expensive, other than hotels that were far away from everything. We loved the room - it was so clean. Loved that we got a king and a sofa bed - they even have a little breakfast nook/table. We had a great view - first floor room with a porch that walks out to the small parking lot - then OCEAN! Nothing across the street, so there is nothing in your way of the view. La Jolla is a bit of a drive (20 min+), or bus ride away (1hr+) from downtown, Ocean Beach, Old Town, etc. BUT SO WORTH IT. I was SO HAPPY to not be staying downtown San Diego. La Jolla is clean, safe, really really quiet, and overall just beautiful (looks like a town on the Mediterranean). The staff was really nice, breakfast was cute - only complaint I have is that the wifi is not very strong, but it still works (if you stay on the office-side of the building, you'd be fine). Scripps Inn is just a short walk away from great restaurants, shops, and a great city park (very clean and kid-friendly) on the ocean. You can even see the sea lions from right across the street. Stay here if you're having a hard time deciding on a place to stay. I booked this place last-minute, and I'm so glad that I did. My trip was for a surprise Mother's Day vacation, and my mom was tickled pink with Scripps Inn. The quaintness and great location made it such a special trip. Great job, Scripps Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but limited hours

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The location was great and the views were fantastic. However, the hotel office hours are quite limited. You really need to check in before 6PM or the office will be closed. We just made it by 5:45PM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great view, nice location.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Staff exceptionally nice and accommodating. The location is walking distance from many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

Small inn with great beach access and view.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Liked the closeness to the beach. Rooms are clean with a good view. Housekeeping services were great. They thoroughly cleaned our room everyday.
Cons: -bathroom needs air vent -more breakfast choices (cereal or toast) would have been nice -need more beach chairs as they were checked out everyday
Location: Beach is across the street. Parking was available for free. It is close to and within walking distance to LaJolla shopping.
We arrived after lobby was closed. We called ahead to get instructions to check into our room. If we had not done this we would not have been able to get into our room. The facility was clean with beach access across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We loved this hotel. Great location with wonderful room. When we come back to the San Diego area, this will be our go to lodging. The ONLY negative which isn't even horrible is the lack of power outlets in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock, Colorado

Beautiful views & room, wonderful staff, romantic

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Bryce Nelson was exceptional, all staff we met were helpful and friendly, breakfast was perfect, room was clean and nicely beach themed, views from room were beautiful, right across from beach (no hotels on beach and no buildings between hotel and beach), having windows open to sleep with cool ocean breezes + soft sounds of the surf = wonderful, clean and well kept, all needed amenities, dream vacation ~ wish it was longer.