Ratings based on 2,682 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pool and jacuzzi area

Posted Jun 13, 2017
The hotel room was clean. Parking is extra but there is street parking available. The pool area and jacuzzi was nice. I also like all the green plants throughout the hotel. Staff at reception was ok. I would recommend to travelers visiting La Jolla caves and shores. Also it is right off the freeway which makes it convenient and accessible. Close to shopping area and not too far from downtown San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!!!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed myself at this hotel. The service was excellent. I treated myself to a stay-cation...My friend was dropping me off here for a stay; we first went to lunch and the waitress was so helpful! She even took my order for dinner and breakfast so that it could be delivered to my room! And the kitchen made a special noodle, pesto request that was not on the dinner menu. The room was awesome!!! I had two queens beds and flipped and flopped from one to the other! lol It was just a nice, calming room...Bathroom was clean; no complaints! The grounds are beautiful!!! I will definitely be going back at some point in time but next time two days!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really comfortable to stay a night but that's it

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Wonderful experience, but for some reason I was completely and utterly bored. There's something about it being such a small hotel I suppose that wasn't my style. More for conferences I suppose rather than just staying overnight. Can't judge the breakfast as it wasn't included in my overnight price, but it's $25 a person if you try it out. On the other hand, bed so comfy I would buy it if I needed one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Ok experience, not great not bad. Older property with some wear but clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Nice, but...

Posted May 14, 2017
This hotel is fairly decent but they nickel and dime ya. They charge 20 bucks a night for parking, charge you for breakfast even though they advertise free breakfast. The pool was nice and the hotel room was decent, but I would have chosen somewhere with free parking and breakfast had I known
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We had a short stay for a visit at UCSD. Nice staff and comfortable room. 10-15 minutes by car to La Jolla Shores beach and the village with shopping and great restaurants. Just be aware there is construction happening next door which started early in the morning. The toilet kept running so I called the front desk and they took care of it quickly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Comfortable, confusing, hidden fees

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean, safe, and had plenty of amenities. I would go back again.
Cons: No signs to point out the parking lot or front office. No parking near the front office. Key cards confusing to use. Front desk staff unhelpful.
Location: The neighborhood is quiet and (it seemed to me) quite safe. The hotel is in a business, rather than a residential district.
The rooms are clean and not dilapidated. The temperature was comfortable. Shampoo is furnished, but toothpaste is not. There is one complimentary bottle of water and a coffee maker with 3 packets of coffee grounds. There is also a small refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a safe for valuables. The closet contained a drop-down ironing board, an iron, and an umbrella. The artwork in the rooms and in the hallways seemed interesting. There is a full-length mirror on the bathroom door and a fascinating magnifying mirror in the bathroom that ladies who apply makeup will greatly appreciate. There was also a hair dryer in the bathroom. The hot water in the shower is hot immediately (there is no wait) but it steams the mirror and there is no fan. The room was furnished with a desk and a wide-screen TV. I would guess that the screen was 4 feet wide and 3 feet high. I arrived at night, so I did not see the entire hotel, but there was a karaoke bar where the food and the music were good, and there was a swimming pool where people seemed to enjoy themselves. The hotel is actually a campus of buildings, including 5 residence halls. The walkways between the buildings are well marked with signs indicating where the front office, the restaurant, the karaoke bar, and the residence halls are located. Beware of surprise fees, both for overnight parking and bottled water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accessible and not far from beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We had a good experience here meeting with multiple family members for a wrdding. Hotel staff was accommodating and pleasant to work with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We had a great experience. Easy check in process as well as check out. However, parking is a little pricey. Otherwise no complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ticks all the boxes

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, great pool, easy highway access to all attractions, close to excellent grocery store and coffee shop (Pete's). Only negative is that our room was cleaned very late every day, 4pm+.