Ratings based on 1,850 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Got the royal treatment the moment we arrived from polite valet to house keeping. Everyone gave off an air of generosity, friendlessness, and professionalism. The decor was among the best I've encountered in a while. Absolutely breathtaking. One slight drawback was accidentally being told the wrong number of the suit we'd be staying in. But the issue was quickly rectified and we were comped free drinks and appetizers at their amazing in-house restaurant. On that note I have to mention their great live piano based musical entertainment at the bar. House keeping was especially thorough and visited a couple of times a day, possibly more. The room was fantastic. Soft mattresses, easy to figure out shower, and all lamps have built in dimmers. Another key point was the near sound proof walls. I never heard a peep from our neighbors regardless of the time of day. Room service was nice. A tad pricey but overall worth it. The food was always fresh and presented in an aesthetically pleasing manner. One negative that stands out was the view from the room. Usually not a deal breaker however our room faced another portion of the building in which we could clearly see inside the rooms opposite us. Not a big issue we kept the curtains drawn but the main kicker was consistently needing to close the blinds of the large bathroom window after coming back to the room for the day. Seemed unnecessary to keep those open considering the location of the suit. Otherwise our stay was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

some interior decorator tried really hard.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: location and cleanliness.
Cons: the carpeting andf the wallpaper. by a great deal!
Location: see above.
but the look was a disaster. it you werent dizzy when you got there you certainly were by the time you found your room. the staff was -- fpr the most part -- quite pleasant and helpful. our room was small but clean and decent. the location was wonderful...a short walk to Petco Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Everything was fine, the parking rate is a high price to pay, understanding that is San Diego and not NY. The restaurant's furniture need to be changed for a new one. Also the prices are higher compared to the same quality of the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Remodeled landmark hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Our room did not have a place to sit comfortably. Also, as it was at the front of the hotel, somewhat noisy.
Location: On the edge of the gaslamp district, close by the park and Little Italy
Remodeled landmark hotel. Nicely updated. No pool. No spa. Concierges LeeAnn and Mark were top notch and both very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great facility, very convenient to where my location was and would totally stay again. Worth noting the couple blocks around it are a little rough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I stayed in this hotel for my wedding night. The staff was thoughtful and were nice enough to upgrade us to a nicer room and move our luggage to the new room while we were out. Thank you so much Cynthia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Kimber T., Hotel Management
Hello Manuel, thank you for the wonderful review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to know you had a special wedding night thanks to our beautiful hotel and friendly staff. We hope to see you back again soon! Perhaps for your 1 year wedding anniversary?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, Ca

A luxurious stay in San Diego

Posted Jul 2, 2017
US Grant is always the best place to relax & enjoy San Diego. It's the 1st Hotel we look @ B 4 we book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for thinking of us when planning your visits to San Diego. What an honor to be the first property that comes to mind!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegas

5 Star Hotel, But 4 Star Experience.....but....

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect and the price totally reasonable.
Cons: Just check the air conditioning/vents in our room. No biggie.
Location: perfect location. Park across the street, Gas Lamp Quarter starts across the street, seaside shops within walk distance...about 8 blocks I think.
Air conditioning made lots of noise, so couldn't use. That was the only prob. I imagine just our room. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS OUTSTANDING! Great view, great location near. Little bit of a walk, but we hoofed it from the seaside to the hotel. Gaslamp Quarter right next to our location. Surprising amount of Indian restaurants. Hotel Lounge was comfortable. We got interesting drinks and deserts. Room was comfy with nice bathroom. Definitely recommended. If we didn't have the air conditioning prob, definitely 5 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us! We are so sorry that you experienced an inconvenience with the a/c in your guestroom. Please visit us again soon as we are confident we can earn that 5th star during your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Impeccable Elegance

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Upon arrival I knew I was not staying at your normal everyday hotel. The US Grant is a perfect example of what fine lodgings should be. I was visiting from out of town, a return home, and couldn't have picked a better place to have my girlfriend meet me. The staff were helpful, friendly and remarkably professional. I will definitely be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy to know that your experience, from the moment of arrival, was impeccable! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you will think of us next time you visit downtown San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Hotel and staff were the best, very happy with the hotel stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review. We too, agree, that we have some of the best associates in the city. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!