Ratings based on 3,219 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posh and Charming Hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Cons: parking price
Lots of atmosphere. Highly preferred to more expensive hotels that only offer a sort of "wholesale swank" feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, pa

Right in gaslamp quarter

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Location: Right in gaslamp quarter, short walk to the convention center, price was right, close to restaurants.
Old hotel built in 1886 and renovated in 1986 per the reception staff. My room was right by these beautiful old steps above the bar. The room was small but had everything I needed. Complimentary water was such a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Super comfortable room

Posted May 24, 2017
We stayed here from 5/19-5/21 after our airbnb turned out to be a nightmare. We ended up with a fireplace suite with a beautiful big king sized bed. It was super quiet and and the pillows were to die for! Will definitely keep this place on our list for our next San Diego trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great hotel in downtown San Diego

Posted May 21, 2017
The hotel was very nice and in a great location (i.e., walking distance of shops, restaurants, the convention center, and the stadium). The room was clean and had a flat screen tv and refrigerator. The hotel also has a nice internal courtyard with an open sky and lights to create a nice ambiance at night. The only downside that we saw was that our room (that overlooked the courtyard) sometimes allowed for some noise from loud talking guests. Nevertheless, it was not enough to really detract from the overall score.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Convenient to conference areas

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location, cost, vibe.
Cons: Housekeeping consistency.
Location: Easy walking to restaurants, bars, and conference hotels on waterfront.
Hotel was funky and fun. Loved having a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Restaurant was, at best, average. Housekeeping was a bit hit or miss - no shampoo on first day; no face cloth on second day. Staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lomita, Ca

Walk to the (ball)park

Posted May 9, 2017
Short walk to Petco Park, Valet parking on high side $42 per day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

quaint, very spacious, very good location to walk

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: It is unique with its historic charm. There is a nice outdoor/indoor brick courtyard with trees and fairy lights and lounge seating. Huge room
Cons: Small things ..... light bulb missing in bedside lamp and 1 bulb missing in vanity light strip
Location: you walk out of the hotel and you are walking distance to Harbor Drive park/maritime museum, easy walk to Petco Park, restaurants and pubs.
We loved it because it has a historical charm and individuality. Two large bay windows in the sleeping area with a fireplace and desk, and then a large daybed in the sitting area. Very nice open space. We walked to Petco Park quite easily. Comfy beds, too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy!

Posted May 7, 2017
It was so incredibly noisy; I could not sleep at all. The bed was comfortable but it didn't matter because of how loud the street noise was. The room is nicely furnished, but comically small, especially the bathroom. There is no gym, despite the website stating there is! Some staff were helpful and nice, others very rude and dismissive. Definitely do not recommend at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

In the heart of the gaslamp district.

Posted May 6, 2017
Old charm hotel within walking distance to restaurants, bars and clubs. There is no gym or pool on sight. Full bar and full service restaurant. The hotel has four floors with a nice atrium. If you're looking for peace and quiet don't request a room near the atrium
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rockport, TX

Historic Charm with Great Staff

Posted May 6, 2017
Cons: Privacy from our room to the next was an issue, as I mentioned above. Earplugs would be highly advisable if you're a light-medium sleeper.
Location: Gaslamp District (dining & drinks galore), Petco Park (MLB baseball), San Diego Convention Center, USS Midway (history), Metro Transit (rail & bus)
My wife and I chose the Horton Grand Hotel as our residence for a week long 15th anniversary trip after researching and reading many, many reviews. The Horton proved to be a great choice for us. These are some of the things we loved about our stay at the Horton: 1. Historic charm super close to San Diego's Gaslamp District. 2. Great dining in the Horton and (presumably) limitless dining options within walking distance. 3. Free wifi for our stay. 4. Courteous, professional staff all around. 5. Within walking distance of Petco Park. The biggest negative about our stay at the Horton had to do with our neighbors. Being an older hotel the walls are very thin and our room shared a suite door with the room next to it. Without being too graphic, when something was happening in the room next to ours, we were well aware of it. A pharmacy nearby came through with a box of foam earplugs, else we would have been requesting a new room. I would advise anyone who is concerned about hearing through the walls to speak with the staff about your concerns and/or bring a good pair of earplugs/earbuds.