Ratings based on 3,255 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
great place and great location, would definitely come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Lovely hotel, nicely maintained .we would be pleased to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location in lovely period hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Hotel was great in terms of location in Gaslamp District and having balcony, although small, was good and added some space to the room. Wardrobe was 'period' and was awkward to use as hangers had to sit at an angle to allow you to close the door but this was a minor issue for us. Staff were very helpful and room was very clean. Room amenities were also good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great Location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Enjoyed a long weekend at the Horton Grand discovering the Gaslamp Quarter and visiting friends. The hotel was beautiful, taking one back to 19th century elegance. Historically correct, the rooms were darker than a modern hotel would be. We would visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pillows and mattress are sagging. Other than that everything Is fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but has no gym, pool or laundry

Posted Jun 1, 2017
2 false fire alarms went off while we were there and the night staff just turned the alarm off and said that's all they can do?? We were in the street at midnight and there was no manager to help guests, only a desk person saying talk to the manager in the morning leaving us wondering if the building was really on fire???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great Location, Lots of History

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: History, location, clean rooms
Location: Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Convention Center, Trolley Tours
Was in town for a conference at the convention center. Compared to where my colleagues were staying at various hotels, this one had the most character. Clean, comfortable, recently remodeled rooms in a historic location. The courtyard can get loud depending on who is spending time down there, but I couldn't complain. Building was lovely and the area was completely walkable. 100% would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in downtown San Diego

Posted May 30, 2017
Check in was lukewarm at best; Get to our room and cannot get in. Have to come all the way back down (with luggage) to front desk to let them know we could not open door (tried to get help from housekeeping but she was not able to give us any direction). We are told by front desk person that we have to pull up on door, and told so without apology and in a condescending manner (not sure why we weren't told this from the beginning, as it is a counter-intuitive way to open a door). Once in our room for about an hour someone unlocks door and proceeds to come in, without knocking (male maintenance person? We did not report any issues). THAT was unsettling! Valet parking VERY expensive at $42. On a good note, very comfortable bed, great location, great bar. Check out wasn't much warmer, had to wait nearly 5 minutes for person to be on phone with a guest, again no apology or seeming interest in how stay was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posh and Charming Hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Cons: parking price
Lots of atmosphere. Highly preferred to more expensive hotels that only offer a sort of "wholesale swank" feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, pa

Right in gaslamp quarter

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Location: Right in gaslamp quarter, short walk to the convention center, price was right, close to restaurants.
Old hotel built in 1886 and renovated in 1986 per the reception staff. My room was right by these beautiful old steps above the bar. The room was small but had everything I needed. Complimentary water was such a nice touch.