Ratings based on 2,665 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nostalgic

Posted Jun 25, 2017
The nostalgia of this hotel is great. It has a great pool and spacious rooms. The hotel staff was very friendly. Rooms are a bit out dated and mattresses are not top quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

love the lafayette

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: i wish the succulent store was still across the street. love walking up to tiger tiger
great room, staff and time as always. I visit San Diego often and wouldn't think of staying anyplace else. Recommend the lafayette to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Very friendly staff. Great atmosphere and location. Good on site dining. Would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Interesting historic hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Beautiful old building and pool reminiscent of another era.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosamond, ca

Nice nostalgic hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Had a room on third floor, second day of stay elevator went out was moved to poolside room very nice. Staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Loved the Old School Charm

Posted May 31, 2017
I really enjoyed my 6 night stay here. The staff were friendly, and loved the history and charm of the old building. The pool was wonderful and made me feel like I was in a different time period. The restaurant had great food as well. The rooms are on the smaller side, with not much counter space in the bathroom, so don't expect that. But it has everything you need, and was always clean. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cool spot at good price

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, bar, food, clean room, free wifi.
Cons: Bathroom was showing its age with some damaged tiles. I preferred the free parking 4 years ago, but street parking worked out.
Location: Nothing in walking distance. But 5 minutes from downtown by car.
Nice room, good bar and good food at a good price. A little bit out of the way. Fun pool environment - young, hip crowd.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

The pictures paint an inaccurate picture

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The pool area is beautiful. Too bad the pool itself is difficult to access.
Cons: See above.
Location: There's a hipster dive bar with a very loud jukebox two blocks away that I liked. And a very old (1930's) piano bar next door that's good for a drink.
I knew this was a 'historic' property when I booked my reservation, but had no idea I'd be checking into a hotel with virtually no improvements made since 1950! Standard guest rooms are small and drab with no color or character. Bathrooms are like visiting your grandmothers house. The antique elevators are slow and don't even reach every floor of the hotel (be ready to carry your bags up stairs if you have a room on the 4th floor!) There are no steps into the pool and the poolside chairs are uncomfortable. The neighborhood is dark, cluttered and probably not very safe at night. The lobby restaurant/bar closes early. My room telephone did not work during my entire stay, and I got locked out of the garage twice! I really wish I had trusted my instinct when I arrived at the hotel and left immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Very cool hotel, our room was dated but very clean

Posted May 20, 2017
Loved the staff and felt welcomed! Loved the old movie star feel, and the quotes on every door was very fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Not family friendly

Posted May 16, 2017
I brought my family with small kids to stay here for vacation, on the internet it said "family friendly" they had pool parties with drunk half naked people dancing around with a DJ cussing every other second, needless to say my kids couldn't stay out in the pool for long:(
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by The Lafayette, Hotel Management
Hello there, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the curse words - they were unexpected and we've taken the necessary steps in order to prevent this from happening again in the future. Our pool area has been a big hit with hotel guests (families and singles alike) and the people there tend to be dressed in swimming suits and drinking alcoholic beverages. We encourage guests to view our events page to see what music entertainment is scheduled.