Ratings based on 6,731 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comfy and spacious

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The beds were cozy except for the sofa bed (kids said that).
Cons: n/a
Location: I dont know the city but it was a great walking distance from famous SD gaslamp quarter.
I went to SD for the baseball game. My family and I thought it best to go a day early and browse the city. This was a great hotel. Vintage looking yet modernly furnished. We got a suite and a double bed room (although it was suppose to be two suites, they accommodated us and were nice to offer another stay in the future-which I was fine with that.) We slept very well. Had a nice front view (suite) and kids loved the space. We would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great hotel in the heart of downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
Close to ball diamond, uss midway, bars and restaurants, San Diego is an awesome city to visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, close to Coronado Island.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: I loved the look of the hotel.
Cons: The bathroom shower.
Location: There is a coffee house right next door and the hotel offers bikes with your stay for up to 3 hours to explore the area.
I stayed for two nights with my wife and we liked the hotel and what it has to offer. The room was a little small but it is a boutique hotel so that is to be expected. The lobby is very charming and there is a restaurant which we did not get to eat at this time. The only problem we had was that our bathroom flooded every time we showered. There is no door, just a glass wall by the showerhead & unfortunately the lip of the shower didn't prevent the water from getting out and our floor mat was always drenched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent location and friendly staff. Historic building with great views. Clean and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Mediocre.

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel check in was smooth. Lobby decor was beautiful. The room is small, which I expected so it wasn't too much of a surprise, but the mold that was visible on the walls was a surprise. Also, the bathroom door is only a sliding door that leaves you a very clear sillouhette view of the person in the bathroom which is kind of embarrassing. Since the bathroom door doesn't have a base, you can hear everything coming from the bathroom since you're only a few feet away if you're in bed. The hotel is nice, but the layout of the room, and bathroom needs a little bit more thought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Convenient location. Well - maintained old, historic building. Free yoga classes - nice idea, as well as bicycles to use, also free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KW Ont

Great spot!

Posted May 12, 2017
Excellent service and a great room. Good location as well!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay

Posted May 12, 2017
Too many extra fees to this hotel could of stayed at a better place if I knew here was going to be so many fees
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Well Situated but the room was disappointing

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: If you have a late flight there is a lockable storage room for your luggage, which was manned by the reception.
Cons: Room needed redecorating and drainage needs addressing
Location: Well situated fro everything in San Diego
The hotel is well situated within the centre of San Diego and the staff were very helpful. The room was well equipped with toiletries, coffee maker and complimentary water. However the room was quite small with limited storage space. There was a safe and ironing board with iron, if needed. The room was dark and all the furniture was coloured black and was dated. The small shower & toilet room was dark and there was a strange drainage smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good Location - Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms were small, but clean and quaint. The hotel staff was wonderful and the bathroom products were the absolute best!
Location: We enjoyed the happy hour in the attached bar and the location was convenient to Horton Plaza and the hop on hop off trolley stop.
Had a nice stay at The Sofia. The location was convenient to the Hop On Hop Off Trolley and Horton Plaza.