Ratings based on 6,906 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very clean rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Close to the tram system which we used to get around. Visited Seaport Village, Old Town and Balboa Park. Did not enjoy the meal at the Currant Restaurant, very overpriced and took a very long time to get our food. Room was very clean and large. Overall we enjoyed our stay at The Sophia and would go back if we visit San Diego again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel walking distance to great locations

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Wonderful time with free yoga classes and bicycles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Favorite Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I try and stay here as often as possible. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff are always nice, and it's a perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from irvine, ca

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Had a great stay! Such a romantic, modern & beautiful hotel. Extremely clean, professional hotel and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

well situated.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Nice hotel. Well situated for walking to Gas Lamp District, Little Italy and SeaPort Village. Staff were pleasant when checking in and if you asked them a question but didn't acknowledge our presence whenever we either left or returned to the hotel. Small detail perhaps but a 'hello' or 'have a great day' goes a long way to my idea of providing great service. We did have one minor issue. We had returned to our room after being out most of the day to find that we had no towels. I called reception and they told me they would have some sent up 'immediately'. Two hours later we still didn't have any so I went down to the desk and told them we were still waiting. The man I spoke to said 'oh my goodness I'll get that sorted straight away and I will let Housekeeping know because that's quite bad'....gee, ya think?!!! Despite that I think we would still here again. The restaurant at the front of the hotel (Currant) is excellent. I can highly recommend the mussels and frites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location near airport, small rooms

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Good location in Gaslamp and near the aiport (about 15 minutes).
Cons: Couldn't be improved, but no food service and small rooms.
Staff was pleasant and happy to serve - allowed for late checkout even with full occupancy the next day. The rooms are very clean and pleasant, but small. The bed felt more like a double than a queen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Great stay, great staff. Restaurant downstairs is excellent!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Close to the city

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Room far too small, sofa bed was more like a single bed, not big enough for 2 children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but rooms are small and old

Posted Jul 16, 2017
I was only there 1 night. The location is excellent and I like that there is an easy staircase so I didn't have to take the elevator. But the rooms are old and very small. I'm used to a little more luxury I guess for that price. Also the gym was nice but reeked of body order. The yoga studio is a nice touch. If I needed a place I might stay again but I couldn't handle more than 1 night there. Definitely only big enough for 1 person. There is a coffee bean on the corner and a Starbucks within walking distance The staff was nice and always available. Valet and self parking are the same price but with valet you can come and go for one price so do that. Also the area is a little dangerous so be careful. A lot of homeless people and some drug addicts. Definitely feels a bit like NYC in that area. I would not go walking at night alone and I was surprised to see that
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Small room. Terrible view. Small shower. Sino not in bathroom. Outdated appliances/amenities.