Ratings based on 6,808 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Older Hotel with Charm and Convenient Locatiom

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, amenities and restaurant quality
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Walking distance to waterfront and GasLight
Refurbished older hotel easy walking distance to waterfront and Gas Light heart of downtown. Rooms small but well appointed. Customer service is outstanding from reception to valet to cleaning staff. Currant, adjacent restaurant and lounge has wonderful food. Recommend French onion soup and wild mushroom rigatoni. Amazing complimentary additional amenities such as downtown walking tour and yoga classes. No pool or exercise room. Very competitively priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great experience

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Everything was great, but the room was a little tight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Love the Hotel, Staff could be Better.

Posted Jun 19, 2017
The hotel itself was very nice. I like vintage boutique hotels, and the Sofia was very quiet. However, the hotel staff was not friendly at all. Each time we left or returned to the hotel, nobody acknowledged or greeted us, even though the doors and desk were fully staffed. Additionally, when I asked for late checkout, since standard checkout is 12, the desk staff offered me 12:30, then 1. I thought this was odd. Overall, I like the hotel itself but the staff could use an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Cozy Hotel right in the hearth of San Diego

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness (we found a small roach). And locks in the bathroom
Location: Walking distance from nightlife, awesome restaurants, historical points
Spent the memorial day weekend on this Hotel, it was a excellent choice in terms of location and some perks like the complimentary historical tour guide trough San Diego downtown, complimentary bicycle lending, complimentary bottled water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very Pleasant Hotel Ideally Located

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness of hotel and location.
Cons: Nothing. Keep up the good work!
Location: The Sofia is very conveniently located close to the airport, downtown, Gas Light Quarter and Petco Park.
The Sofia is a very pleasant small hotel. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The Sofia is ideally located within walking distance of the Gas Light Quarter and it's many restaurants and night clubs. It's also within walking distance of Petco Park. The airport is close by and just a $7 ride on Uber.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Like the other posts suggest, the room is indeed small but very functional. For two people it is fine. I would recommend getting a corner room as you're given panaoramic views. The staff all had personality and a professional sense of humor. Parking is expensive but you have in/put privileges and the hotel is so centrally located in downtown that you can walk anywhere you would want to go. It's flat people! No hills! Enjoy it. Wish we could have stayed longer but we went onward into Mexico!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
The staff was courteous and helpful. I had to catch an early flight and they helped make it a smooth process.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good things come in small packages!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Gas Lamp District within walking distance. Buses near hotel w/access to great attractions and to/and from airport.
Wonderful hotel. Close to everything. Small room but classy! Will do again if I ever go to San Diego again! Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2017
If you don't mind walking a little, it is a good hotel to stay at. However, the bathroom set up in our room isn't ideal. The glass doesn't cover the shower far enough so water gets everywhere after your shower. The bathroom was also quite small. The picture looks nicer. Nonetheless, it is still a nice hotel to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from avondale,az

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Nice hotel small rooms, parking was difficult. I would like to come and stay here again just in a larger room.