Ratings based on 2,299 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Great location in the Gaslamp district

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable rooms etc...good facilities.
Cons: Nothing
Very nice hotel close to all the shops, bars, restaurants, waterfront, convention centre etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carlsbad, ca

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Most of staff were very good
Cons: Everything policy wise
Wi-fi access is worst ive seen in 5 yrs. seriously, 15 min limit then you have to pay??? Restaurant food a 4 out of 10 scale for quality and way too expensive! And a $20 wine corkage fee? For a 2 star restaurant at best!!! I wont stay here again and will tell all my friends and associates to definitely avoid this place! And, a $59 per day valet parking fee and NO self park!!! Gouging at its best!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Needs more weight equipment and more bikes

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The concierge women were excellent, very helpful and sociable. We liked the green Policy that is pro-environment. Valet system seemed disorganized and overcharged, but front desk corrected the problem without a hassle. Supposedly heated pool was still to cold when temps weren't that high. SPG guests are charged extra $20 per night on SPG floor, but get no extra benefits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4th of July vacation

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel with great rooms, well decorated and perfect bed
Location: Lots to do and see
Great hotel, great area for walking and shopping, close to everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

In Downtown and close to good eats

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Fix plumbing issue.
Location: Easy to get to Petco stadium, little Italy, and the waterfront.
Sink faucets with poorly functioning valves resulting in extremely hot water for a considerable time, even when the hot water tap turned off while cold water running. musty odor in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

easy

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: the staff was very helpful, professional,
Cons: the bar drinks were watered down,
Location: walking distance to great areas to visit.
only real problem is the charges that are on the bill in my opinion facility charges and occupancy charges are the same thing very disappointed in how it is bill and worded. Do not mind all the tipping to the hotel staff, they were great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel but didn't like fees

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: It was clean, the room was nice. The staff was friendly, anytime you walk by them they always said hi.
Location: It was near the mall so there was a lot of things around it. I was able to walk pretty much everywhere.
The hotel was clean and the people were very nice. I didn't like that I had to pay facility fees when I checked out. It doesn't really explain what those fees are but i'm guessing it's for the Gym & Pool which we didn't use. They only had valet overnight parking which was 45$ a night. I would have rather had these feels included when I got the room, instead of having to pay them when we were leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

great hotel. needs more light in the rooms though

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: lighting in the rooms
Location: so much to do and see you can't even list it all
It was great! Room was great. Pool was great. Hotel bar was great. The actual rooms need more light. There is no overhead light and no floor lamp, so it is hard to see - the lights are dim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Westin designs hotels catering to the comfort and convenience of their customers. There are many kitsch artsy new ideas out there which may make for good articles and photos in magazines, but what you really want at the end of the work day is a nice place to eat, and a comfortable bed and a bathroom big enough to share with your partner. This Westin delivers, great location with many restaurants around and spacious comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't want to leave!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Beds are amazing, perfect location and walking distance to most downtown and waterfront sites. Parking is expensive everywhere downtown so highly recommend not renting a car, $10 Uber from the airport, and $6 for most trips I took.