Ratings based on 3,116 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island new york

clean hotel and comfortable,

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: outdoor pool, and buffett breakfast
Cons: more gym equipment
Location: near many restaurants and the beach
the hotel was modern and updated, the gym was decent , with a nice outdoor pool and hot tub. the food in the hotel was pretty good, good buffet breakfast and pretty good dinner at the restaurant. service was always prompt and attentive. i would definitely stay here again in the future, and it is not that far from the gaslamp area and places to eat. also a short drive to a few beaches
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

High hopes- too bad

Posted May 30, 2017
We arrived at 4:30. Check in started at 3. We had reserved two rooms. There isn't parking and we expected it. Had to park out front to unload. We get in and the customer service was below average. The person seemed to hate their job, didn't smile, or answer any questions. Finally get checked in and one room is fine. The second room is dirty. No bedding, trash, used soap etc. we call down to the front desk and get some runaround saying that the room will be ready in an hour and a half. They didn't provide any other solution or options. The problem was there wasn't any sense of we are so sorry. Nothing. They person said they would speak to their manager but never got back to us. We had two families and kids all in one room. It was awful. Customer service was one of the worst I have experienced. The room isn't cheap and I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Be Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager, Hotel Management
• Sarah- It is unfortunate to read your review. It appears we fell short in several areas to meet your expectations and provide the Westin 4 diamond service we are known for. I have shared your feedback with the team so we can ensure this level of service is addressed immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego.

lovely hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Wine, cheese, humans, crackers 5-6 pm most nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Be Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager, Hotel Management
Business- Thank you for your review! Our SPG snack our is a big hit for many guests. Mon - Thur we offer wine a cheese, Fri- Sun for Westin Weekend we off sweet and salty snack.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Extremely unfriendly staff. Had issues both at arrival with the people at the front desk and afterwards with one of the managers on the phone. They claim free internet but did not provide an internet password. Most disappointing hotel stay in a long time!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Alyssa Turowski General Manager , Hotel Management
It is unfortunate to read your review. It appears we fell short in several areas to meet your expectations and provide the Westin 4 diamond service we are known for. I have shared your feedback with the team so we can ensure this level of service is addressed immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel is absolutely perfect except for the extremely small area for valet parking. We were in the stree waiting.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Be Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager, Hotel Management
Anonymous - Thank you for your 5 star review. Come back and stay with us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

I'm not happy with my stay

Posted May 7, 2017
The hotel was not bad but the staff was very rude and not the experience I was expecting
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Alyssa, Hotel Management
Tyler - I am disappointed to hear about your experience. We usually receive great feedback about our team members, yet I can see we missed the mark. I hope this will not tarnish your outlook of us and our many sister properties. Thank you for your feedback. - Be well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice hotel. Staff was great! Valet day dinning refommendations were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Be Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager, Hotel Management
Anonymous - Thank you for the 5 star review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Lovely clean hotel and near to all amenities.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Staff were excellent,answered all questions we asked.Hotel lovely and clean and room was very comfy.Could find no fault at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Alyssa, Hotel Management
Debbie - Thank you for the 5 stars! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our team and property. I hope we see you soon! - Be well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

lovely hotel, annoying service fees

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The Westin San Diego is a lovely hotel - pleasant, comfortable rooms; great location; great staff! BUT it's beyond annoying when a very non-budget hotel surprises its guests with a $20/night facility fee. That couldn't be included in the cost of the room? Why would a hotel undermine guests' goodwill by nickel-and-diming us? So annoying. And I would like to complain directly to the Westin, except if you call with a question about your bill you're asked to leave a message and told that someone will get back to you within 2 days. No patience for that!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Be Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager, Hotel Management
Carol Ann - Our facilities fee is noted and published on all sites prior to booking and I have confirmed with Expedia that they have it published as well on their site. We definitely do not try to surprise any guest upon departure and the fee includes much more than internet and newspapers. Included in the fee is round trip airport transportation, complimentary snack hour daily, complimentary bottled water in your guestrooms, complimentary local and long distance phones calls, as well as internet. We hope you will still consider coming back to sunny San Diego on future trips.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Leaking ceiling

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The ceiling was leaking! Lol it was so embarrassing when I had my friends come visit me in my room... will never return here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Alyssa, Hotel Management
I am very disappointed to hear about your experience and I do hope our engineering team was able to assist you right away. We take all maintenance issues very seriously and want to make sure our guests are comfortable and moved to a new room if needed. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will still consider our many properties in the future. - Be well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager