Ratings based on 1,154 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuma, AZ

Average Hotel for Limited Stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Proximity to local attractions
Cons: Update the rooms and facilities. Also, a proactive set of employees/customer service.
Location: Mall, Qualcomm Stadium, Sea World, Beach
This hotel is simply average. The rooms are small and outdated. My room had a 'funky' smell and the carpet seemed dirty. The facilities need updating and better up-keeping. I was only at this hotel for one day and it was more than sufficient. I would not recommend for a long stay. Also, beware of additional charges such as hotel fees and parking fees. You might end up paying more than you expected. Also, parking within the hotel is very limited so it might take you a while to find one and if you do it might be far from your room. The only advantage is its proximity to local attractions. You can pay a bit more at another hotel and get a nicer place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Reuben, Hotel Management
Dear Gabriel, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to enjoy our central location, though I’m sorry you had a disappointing experience with the room. We are slated for a major renovation and are excited to see the change in quality it will bring to our guests. Warm regards, Reuben Medina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to beach and shopping

Posted May 21, 2017
wife liked the proxomity to shopping and i liked the wealth of activities at the hotel as well as Mission Valley. Super place, plan on staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Reuben, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy the central location of the Hotel. Warm regards, Reuben Medina
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Staff were really nice and friendly
Cons: flooring bathrooms and especially the lighting
Location: location was great
The rooms on the ground floor are not up to the standard we are used to. The flooring was not wood and gave a cheap feel to the room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Reuben, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are slated for a major renovation and are excited to see the change in quality it will bring to our guests. Warm regards, Reuben Medina Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to downtown.

Posted May 15, 2017
More spas and less parking charge. Nothing more to add.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexicali

Beautiful facilities but...

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Prices, honoring commitments, improve map of facilities.
I booked (and payed) for a room with a King Size bed, when I was doing my check-in I was told that there were only rooms with Queen size beds available, so while the hotel has a great location with great facilities, it was a huge dissapointment that they are not able to honor their commitments.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Erick, We thank you for your review and we apologize we did not meet your expectations. We always strive for excellence so we will continue to learn from your experience and train our staff to improve in this area. Warm regards, Reuben Medina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Stayed in the Regency Tower. Older style room that was comfortable with a great bed. When I arrived one lamp was missing a bulb and one of the bedside lamps had a burnt out bulb. The TV had a reasonable picture but the remote was faulty and took a lot of effort to work. The room was quiet. Had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever enjoyed in a hotel. Loved the gardens and the conference facilities were more than adequate. Staff were very pleasant and willing to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay! We apologize that you had trouble with the lamp, though we are glad to hear you found the bed to be the most comfortable. We look forward to your return! Warm regards, Reuben Medina
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel is overpriced. Beside the room fee, extras such as spa fee (whether you want it or not), parking (necessary to get to your room) and hotel fees can add up to 50 dollars to the stated price. Most rooms are old and in need of renovation ie. old plastic sinks with embedded brown stains. If you are at a meeting or convention stay somewhere else. You will still pay $20.00 for parking but have a choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry you had a disappointing experience. We are slated for a major renovation and are excited to see the change in quality it will bring to our guests. Warm regards, Reuben Medina
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
The door lock is not working, staff not responding, everything very old, air conditioning so loud that I can't sleep. Not worthed for the money, similar to a cheap motel in a desert.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for this feedback of your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with us. Our goal is to provide the best customer service and product in the Mission Valley area. We will continue to work towards this goal so we will learn from your experience and train our staff to improve in this area. Warm regards, Reuben Medina
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, in urgent need of revamping

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: It was easy to get around San Diego since it is just by the Trolley station
Resort fees are too much, nothing was offered for it. Drinking water around the pools would have been a nice touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the trolley station near the Hotel. We are slated for a major renovation and are excited to see the change in quality it will bring to our guests. Warm regards, Reuben Medina
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an okay hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: It was clean !
Cons: The beds, sound proofing so you don't hear your neighbors conversations...
Location: There are lots of hotels near this one and the mall.
We were put in a room that had two beds, but hardly anywhere to put our two suitcases. One suitcase sat on the second bed where our 9 year old slept. You could hear the conversations of the people staying next to our room. No sound proofing at all. We complained and they sent security to the next room to ask them to keep quiet, however they should have just moved us to another room with better sound quality, especially since the other room next to us had a few young kids and they're expected to be loud. We would not stay here again, it was just for one night as we had stayed at a condo for a week and was looking for a room close to the airport to depart the next day. It was by far the worst sleep we had the whole week. Not to mention the beds were not comfortable at all.