Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murrieta ca

Anniversary get away

Posted May 12, 2017
We had a great time. Room was clean it included a refrigerator and microwave. Only issue was toilet paper was a little too rough, I'm use to extra soft but other then that the stay was great and I would be definitely be staying again if I need a room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. We are happy that everything was to your liking, particularly that you enjoyed our in-room amenities and clean and comfortable room. We note your comments regarding the toilet paper and we will take that under consideration. It is wonderful to hear that we would be your hotel of choice next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o c cal

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: near downtown,friendly staff .good place to sleep n good price
Cons: small parking lot
Location: see above
park my car n did not drive bus every 12 min great service take everywhere. rail 3 small blocks runs every 15 min . hotel close to downtown maybe 9 blocks, take bus. older latin area, great Mexican food very close.try tamale shop 40 yards south excellent,its a must! theres much to do. near Petco and ill be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. We are happy that everything was to your liking, and we are delighted that our location was so convenient for your needs. It is great to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our affordability. We look forward to welcome you back again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
clean and new, little nice breakfast, friendly staff. not directly in downtown, but good connections
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, we are glad that we could provide you with such a pleasant and comfortable place to stay. We are delighted to hear that you found our facilities to be clean and well maintained, our staff to be so friendly, and our location convenient. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice staff. Clean. Great breakfast! I would definately stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We love to hear guests say that they would stay with us again, so thank you very much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your clean room, our great breakfast, and our fantastic staff. We hope you see you again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gardena,ca

Worst hotel stay away ever

Posted Apr 6, 2017
When checking in right away they told me they were going to charge me extra for a non smoking. I said why if my reservation says non smoking. After i explain that i had a child finally they changed it but they were tring to charge me extra Room said non smoking but the room stinked like if it was a smoking room. When i wake up someone hit my car and i ask to see the video to report it to my insurance and have not giving me the information i ask finally i called to see what was going on and they told me that i park at my own risk. At no point did i receive i disclosure saying that. Stay away
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we are shocked to read about your stay with us. As you mentioned, there should not be any smoking in that room at all. We are sorry that this was not the case. We wish you had mentioned the smell and noise issue to our staff, and we would have gladly switched your rooms to ensure you had a great stay with us. Please accept our apologies. We would like to assure you that this is not the usual experience. We sincerely hope that you will give us another try to restore your confidence in our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Ok hotel near downtown

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Not as nice as some of the other travelodge hotels but it was clean and beds were ok. Parking was a downside, very small lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can, and we are happy that you enjoyed your clean room. We do have limited space for parking, but we accommodate as many of our guests as possible. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next in the area - we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada.

Clean, central and the best value in downtown!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel from it's clean rooms; helpful staff and very central location right downtown. Free breakfast was a bonus.
Location: Very central location - just walking distance to San Diego Harbor, Convention Center, Petco Baseball Stadium, Transit Center & many great restaurants.
Our room was immaculately clean and tastefully furnished. The staff was very professional, courteous and helpful. We enjoyed walking down to the harbor and seawall not having to worry about finding parking in downtown. We are definitely coming back to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are always delighted to hear guests say that they will stay with us again, and we are really happy to have pleased you during your stay. It's great that so many aspects of our hotel met with your approval, and that our location suited you so well. Thank you for your review, we can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county.

One night stay.

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel staff are very nice and friendly but my credit card was charged twice. Prepay through Orbitz and Hotel charge me a second time. Eventually the second charge was reversed and everything was ok but if you don't pay attention to your credit card statement you'll end up paying double. Parking lot is tiny, you'll have a hard time finding a parking spot and and if get lucky you'll find out you can't even open your door wide enough to get out of your vehicle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I was in a non-smoking room, but it heavily smelled like stale smoke. All my clothes that I had hung up smelled like smoke afterwards as well. Bummer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you could smell cigarettes in your room; we have a strict policy, but unfortunately smoke can sometimes waft in from the corridors. We apologize that it was not better aired prior to you checking in. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management