Ratings based on 1,666 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and the staff was pleasant.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
My only negative was the trolley noise. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the best stay. It runs until 1am and it is very obnoxious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Hotel need some updating.
Location: There was lot's to do nearby. The location of the hotel is great!
Hotel was OK. It was clean but it is an old hotel. The rooms are large.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, CA

Beautiful Hotel. Concierge was delightful!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: Parking...
This was our first visit to Westgate Hotel in San Diego. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and in the heart of the Gas Lamp District, so there were many restaurants, stores to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: The location, being close to the gas lamp and balboa park/SD zoo.
Room was a bit dated and the hallway had a electrical smell to it, but the staff was great and the rooftop pool was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yang

Nice hotel, right across from Horton Plaza

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our plans changed since there was a special event going on at Balboa Park so thankfully we were able to check in early! We valet our car ($40 with in/out privileges 24/7) and everyone was super welcoming. Staff got our luggages out of the car and said they would take it up to our room as soon as we get a room number. Super quick check-in, even got our room upgraded. We waited for 1.5 hours before our luggages were brought up to us. Not sure why it took so long? We weren't in a rush or anything, but somehow we left our baby's formula in one of the luggage and it was feeding time.. Nonetheless, the room, services and staff were amazing. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're happy you had a pleasant stay. Please accept my apologies for the delay on delivering your luggage. We will discuss with staff. Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
They had me in a room next to the trolley and I could NOT sleep the trolley beeps every 15 mins and honks MULTIPLE times DURING THE NIGHT! Housekeeping accidentally set my alarm the night before I was leaving and woke me up at 5AM! The bed hurt my back.... Other than that it was an older looking hotel very clean and staff was very nice but I wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Staff is amazing from curbside to room service. Would only be better with self service ice machines. Views are incredible and location in Gaslamp is perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great Hotel close to GasLamp District

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Lobby was gorgeous, room was comfortable, pool area very nice.
Location: The location was very convenient - lots of restaurants to walk to.
Get together with a friend and this was perfect, lots to walk to - the Coronado Ferry and other Harbor tours, the Gas Lamp Quarter, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a nice stay. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel within walking distance to port

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Great hotel - our room was very spacious with a great view of the city and harbor in the distance from the floor to ceiling windows. We stayed a week, so we appreciated the large vanity area separate from the tub and shower room. The staff was professional and friendly from check in to check out - we loved the turndown service and chocolates every night, the directional support from the valets as we walked most everywhere, and the dinner suggestions from the concierge. The hotel was perfectly located downtown between the Gaslamp Quarter (5 minute walk) and the harbor (15-20 minute walk) so we could shop, tour the USS Midway, take the ferry to Coronado Island, get to the San Diego Zoo easily, etc. We loved the European vibe of this hotel, had a fabulous trip, and would definitely stay at the Westgate again next time we're in downtown San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Regards,