Ratings based on 1,663 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: The location, being close to the gas lamp and balboa park/SD zoo.
Room was a bit dated and the hallway had a electrical smell to it, but the staff was great and the rooftop pool was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback! Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yang

Nice hotel, right across from Horton Plaza

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our plans changed since there was a special event going on at Balboa Park so thankfully we were able to check in early! We valet our car ($40 with in/out privileges 24/7) and everyone was super welcoming. Staff got our luggages out of the car and said they would take it up to our room as soon as we get a room number. Super quick check-in, even got our room upgraded. We waited for 1.5 hours before our luggages were brought up to us. Not sure why it took so long? We weren't in a rush or anything, but somehow we left our baby's formula in one of the luggage and it was feeding time.. Nonetheless, the room, services and staff were amazing. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're happy you had a pleasant stay. Please accept my apologies for the delay on delivering your luggage. We will discuss with staff. Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
They had me in a room next to the trolley and I could NOT sleep the trolley beeps every 15 mins and honks MULTIPLE times DURING THE NIGHT! Housekeeping accidentally set my alarm the night before I was leaving and woke me up at 5AM! The bed hurt my back.... Other than that it was an older looking hotel very clean and staff was very nice but I wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Staff is amazing from curbside to room service. Would only be better with self service ice machines. Views are incredible and location in Gaslamp is perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great Hotel close to GasLamp District

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Lobby was gorgeous, room was comfortable, pool area very nice.
Location: The location was very convenient - lots of restaurants to walk to.
Get together with a friend and this was perfect, lots to walk to - the Coronado Ferry and other Harbor tours, the Gas Lamp Quarter, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a nice stay. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel within walking distance to port

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Great hotel - our room was very spacious with a great view of the city and harbor in the distance from the floor to ceiling windows. We stayed a week, so we appreciated the large vanity area separate from the tub and shower room. The staff was professional and friendly from check in to check out - we loved the turndown service and chocolates every night, the directional support from the valets as we walked most everywhere, and the dinner suggestions from the concierge. The hotel was perfectly located downtown between the Gaslamp Quarter (5 minute walk) and the harbor (15-20 minute walk) so we could shop, tour the USS Midway, take the ferry to Coronado Island, get to the San Diego Zoo easily, etc. We loved the European vibe of this hotel, had a fabulous trip, and would definitely stay at the Westgate again next time we're in downtown San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The elegance and cleanliness. The sheets were amazing!
Cons: Booking system caused a little problem but the manager took care of us.
Location: Walked to the USS Midway, to dinner in the Gaslamp Quarter, to Little Italy, to Petco Park, to lunch at the harbor.
This hotel is beautiful!! I loved the antique elegance!! The gym that you get to use is state of the art. Loved it. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Called us by name. And the sheets were exquisite! Wanted to stay in bed they were so luxurious! Great price and worth every penny. Centrally located to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Will definitely be back...

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The customer service was like no other. From the moment we pulled up to Valet to the moment we left... Kindest smiles, courtesy, sweet, friendly, etc. Turndown service was a pleasant surprise. The privacy of the rooms was the best. Beautiful view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CAlifornia

An oasis in town

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: It's old world elegance, efficient and attentive but not stuffy staff, it's proximity to everything there is to do in downtown San Diego.Quiet.
Cons: I can't think of a thing. Harp music during high tea, great food in the restaurants, beautiful lobby and rooms and great staff.
Location: It is within walking distance to the Gaslamp area, shopping, restaurants and even the Trolley tour. Great people watching during Comic Con too.
We were married in town on 7/7/17 and decided we deserved a "wedding night". The Westgate is one of the loveliest hotels in San Diego and we had stayed there 4 years ago. It's like stepping into another world. Everything is perfect from the time you drop off our car with the personable valets to the front desk and the the entire staff. Within walking distance to everything downtown. My daughter and her husband and his mom are staying there next week for our reception. We are planning to go back for our one year anniversary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Beatriz Krause, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Regards,